Where Can I Publish My iWeb Site (BESIDES .MAC)?

Discussion in 'Mac Apps and Mac App Store' started by chaseardoin7, Mar 7, 2007.

1. chaseardoin7 macrumors regular

Mar 7, 2007
    So, i'm new to the whole we publishing world and I need a little help. I've created a personal page on iWeb, and now I want to publish it, but not on .mac. here is what i want:

i. i want a to be able to have my own domain name; www.(myname).com
    ii. i want it cheap! $8/mo or chearper
    iii. my own e-mail address that i can maybe link with Web Mail on osx
    iv. it needs to be easy.....please.

can someone please help me. i've looked into godaddy.com, but i just don't understand how i would get my iWeb site to it.

Chase :apple:
  2. ChrisA macrumors G4

Jan 5, 2006
    Redondo Beach, California
    .mac is made for people who don't understand how all this technical stuff works. It's so simple you don't have to know much. That's why people pay $100 easier to pay then do some reading $100/yr is close to your $8/month budget

most ISPs give their users free web space. Typically you get about 10MB or so. Check with the people you get your service from. You likely do have some free space already There are also many free web hosting services although most are ad supported

If you have a 24x7 Internet connection, like DSL or Cable and a computer you can leave on then you can hjost your own web site using your own computer. As long as you don't have huge amounts of traffic you will never notice if a few people per day look at your site.

How to get your iWeb stuff to some other non .mac location. From within iWeb do a "save to folder" this wil put the web site to your desktop. Next move this foldr to a server using FTP.
  3. rhoydotp macrumors 6502

Sep 28, 2006
    .mac is not only for iWeb but a whole lot more. i personally don't have it so i can't say much more.

anyhow, read through this for top web hosting services on the net