Where do I hook up my wireless router?

Discussion in 'Mac Peripherals' started by captan, Dec 5, 2006.

  1. macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2005
    #1
    I allways get confused when people explain their setups so I figured it would be easier for you to answer my question if I drew a picture (animated gif):

    [​IMG]

    Alternative one and two doesn't require a router with a built in switch so I guess those are cheaper. If the router has a built in switch I guess alternative #4 is the most elegant but then I'd have a left over switch.

    So my question is twofold:

    1. does it matter where you hook up the router? (as in should I strive to place the router as close to the center of my home (as in example 1 and 3 above) or is it best to strive for as few components as possible)

    2. Which wireless router (with or withouth switch) do you recommend for this PC + old Mac + new Mac + Wii setup?

    (the IP-phone thingy is not a modem btw - don't know what to call it)
     
  2. macrumors demi-god

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2005
    Location:
    Virginia Beach
    #2
    Most setups I've seen go something like this:

    Socket in Wall > Modem > Router > (everything else)

    Where is your modem currently, and what's currently acting as the router, or are you in a dorm or something where you don't have to worry about those?
     
  3. macrumors 603

    Markleshark

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2006
    Location:
    Carlisle, Up Norf!
    #3
    Don't buy a Wireless Router.

    Buy a Wireless Access Point, plug it into your switch and there you go, wirelessness.
     
  4. thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2005
    #4
    I got "fiber to the home" as they call it (and it's not a dorm - it's an apartment building) - the socket is just a regular RJ45 which you could just plug straight to the computer and it delivers 10Mbit or 100Mbit (both up/down) (depending on what you pay for). So no modem neccesary here.

    oh, thanks, I thought those were the same thing...
     
  5. macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2006
    Location:
    Nottingham, UK
    #5
    my wireless routers/access point (linksys wrt54g) is hooked up as:

    socket in the wall -> cable modem -> router -> imac

    my macbook is mostly connected wirelessly, unless i want to transfer large files in which case, i just use another ethernet connection to the router for faster transfer speeds

    all other peripherals connect wirelessly (phone, ds lite and soon, the wii!!!)
     
  6. macrumors demi-god

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2005
    Location:
    Virginia Beach
    #6
    Gotcha.

    Adding a router to this already-routed situation would make things hairy. I'd definitely go with Markleshark's suggestion. ;)
     

Share This Page