Where is all my space!!??

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by Rapmastac1, Aug 6, 2006.

  1. Rapmastac1 macrumors 65816

    Rapmastac1

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2006
    Location:
    In the Depths of the SLC!
    #1
    I just got a new Macbook 1.83ghz, and it says it has a 60gig drive, but when I have last checked my memory, it said I only have 40gigs, as of now, I have 30, but I put my music and stuff on. But, my question is, does it really take 20gigs for OSX? I mean, windows doesn't even take up but 3gigs, what is up wit this?
     
  2. kevin.rivers macrumors 6502a

    kevin.rivers

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2005
    #2
    Well a 60GB drive formatted is actually 54GB. Because of the whole 1000MB/1024MB thing. then OSX will take some of that. GarageBand is big, so taking that out would save some space. I could see there being about 14GB of things if you have a factory install.

    You can reinstall and take some things out, like the iWork Trial, garageband etc to free up some space. There is an app out there for that too, don't remember it's name.
     
  3. yankeefan24 macrumors 65816

    yankeefan24

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2005
    Location:
    NYC
    #3
    OS X, printer drivers, iLife, iWork (demo), and everything else can easily take up 20GB.

    You can delete some drivers and GarageBand/loops to save alot of space.
     
  4. reh macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2003
    Location:
    Arkansas
    #4
    You don't have 60 gigs for several reasons...

    1) You don't have a 60 GB drive. Apple and all other computer and drive manufacturers lie to you and say that 60 billion bytes is equal to 60 gigabytes. In reality, all operating systems and normal people say that drive is 54GB (or whatever it is). Do a search on this topic. There are a TON of posts.

    2) OS X takes up space.

    3) Applications take up space.

    Use an application such as OmniDiskSweeper to see where your drive space is going.
     
  5. Keebler macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2005
    Location:
    Canada
    #5
    you can also download 'whatsize'

    http://www.versiontracker.com/dyn/moreinfo/macosx/21149

    it will tell you exactly where your space went/is.

    cheers,
    keebler
     
  6. xfiftyfour macrumors 68030

    xfiftyfour

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2006
    Location:
    Clemson, SC
    #6
    I never start working on a new computer before reinstalling OS X without all the "extras" I won't use (ie: the languages I don't speak, the printers I don't have, the programs I won't use..). That's the easiest way to reclaim a lot of your space..

    I've heard that some of the programs out there that supposedly take out the languages, etc. don't do as good of a job as if you just reformat yourself. But I don't know first hand.
     
  7. yippy macrumors 68020

    yippy

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2004
    Location:
    Chicago, IL
    #7
    The biggest culprit on any Mac is the default iLife install. iLife takes up about 10GiB by itself mostly due to Garage Band loops and iDVD themes. Then there is about 1GiB of printer drivers.

    I can get a complete Panther install down to 2GiB including basic apps. Tiger I haven't gotten that small, closer to 4GiB for the smallest everyday use install.
     
  8. KingYaba macrumors 68040

    KingYaba

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2005
    Location:
    Up the irons
    #8
    You can always gut your system yourself. Take out the drivers manually instead of re installing. Find the languages and delete.
     
  9. clevin macrumors G3

    clevin

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2006
    #9
    iworks takes >2gb, and is only a demo, delete it.
     
  10. KingYaba macrumors 68040

    KingYaba

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2005
    Location:
    Up the irons
    #10
    go to library - printers and delete every printer folder except yours. I did that and cleared over 1 gig.
     
  11. Rapmastac1 thread starter macrumors 65816

    Rapmastac1

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2006
    Location:
    In the Depths of the SLC!
    #11
    Ok, so iWork is just a demo??? Wut is up with that, that is sooo....like Windows. Anyway.

    So, I can jus reinstall and it will let me choose, now, if I install the Garageband fully, will it let me copy the loops to a DVD then when I need them, I put in the dvd? (The reason I ask this, is I dunno if all of it is copyrighted against that or now...you know Apple.)

    SO OS (haha, looks funny) reinstallation is a recommended idea?
     

Share This Page