Where is my disc space...?!?!

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by mikebatho, Jun 6, 2006.

  1. mikebatho macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2004
    Location:
    Greater Manchester UK
    #1
    I'm out on a job working on a G5 with an 80gb hard drive.

    There's about 3 gb of work on the desktop, and the usual amount of OSX software on there for graphics.

    The bottom of the HD window says there's only 6gb of space left.

    I've done appleI on every folder in the HD (Apps, Os9, Osx, System etc) and can't make up even a third of that space.

    How do I find out what the heck is taking up all my memory?!?!?!?
     
  2. mad jew Moderator emeritus

    mad jew

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2004
    Location:
    Adelaide, Australia
  3. mikebatho thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2004
    Location:
    Greater Manchester UK
    #3
    Will it sweep all the work from my desktop....?
     
  4. mad jew Moderator emeritus

    mad jew

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2004
    Location:
    Adelaide, Australia
    #4
    Nope. :p

    It'll just show you where the space is being used. :)
     
  5. mikebatho thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2004
    Location:
    Greater Manchester UK
    #5
    Ok, having a look now.....cheers.......

    Hope I don't delete anything important!!!:)
     
  6. mad jew Moderator emeritus

    mad jew

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2004
    Location:
    Adelaide, Australia
    #6
    Feel free to ask here before deleting anything that you haven't created yourself. Good luck. :)
     
  7. mikebatho thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2004
    Location:
    Greater Manchester UK
    #7
    OK, I've done a sweep. Can still only locate 25gb of stuff.

    Am I missing something here...??????

    :confused:
     

    Attached Files:

  8. mad jew Moderator emeritus

    mad jew

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2004
    Location:
    Adelaide, Australia
  9. mikebatho thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2004
    Location:
    Greater Manchester UK
    #9
    Erm, not sure. Just ran it on the machine as I use it here.....

    Is there something more I need to do...?

    How do I set up an Admin account...?
     
  10. mad jew Moderator emeritus

    mad jew

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2004
    Location:
    Adelaide, Australia
    #10
    The first account you set up would have been an admin account by default. It tells you whether it's an admin account in the Accounts pane of System Preferences. :)
     
  11. robbieduncan Moderator emeritus

    robbieduncan

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2002
    Location:
    London
    #11
    If you don't know then you are probably running as admin!

    How long since your last reboot? How much RAM do you have. There is a minor possibility that you have a load of paging files taking up lots of space. Open Terminal (in /Applications/Utilities) and type ls -l /var/vm and post the results here...
     
  12. mikebatho thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2004
    Location:
    Greater Manchester UK
    #12
    Last login: Tue Jun 6 10:09:45 on ttyp1
    Welcome to Darwin!
    Cyril-Lyons-Computer:~ cyrillyons$ ls -l /var/vm
    total 262144
    drwx--x--x 14 root wheel 476 15 Feb 17:15 app_profile
    -rw------T 1 root wheel 67108864 6 Jun 08:56 swapfile0
    -rw------T 1 root wheel 67108864 6 Jun 09:24 swapfile1
    Cyril-Lyons-Computer:~ cyrillyons$



    Yep, I'm already running admin......
     
  13. robbieduncan Moderator emeritus

    robbieduncan

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2002
    Location:
    London
    #13
    Damn, I'm a silly one as I now can't remember what ls -l on OSX returns the file size in (is it blocks, bytes, kilobytes...)

    Do this instead:

    du -h /var/vm

    Which should report the disk usage of the virtual memory folder in human readable form.
     
  14. mikebatho thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2004
    Location:
    Greater Manchester UK
    #14
    Last login: Tue Jun 6 10:16:34 on ttyp1
    Welcome to Darwin!
    Cyril-Lyons-Computer:~ cyrillyons$ du -h /var/vm
    du: /var/vm/app_profile: Permission denied
    128M /var/vm
    Cyril-Lyons-Computer:~ cyrillyons$
     

    Attached Files:

  15. robbieduncan Moderator emeritus

    robbieduncan

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2002
    Location:
    London
    #15
    Well that's not it then!
     
  16. mikebatho thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2004
    Location:
    Greater Manchester UK
    #16
    I'm confused.

    I'm not really a hardware kinda fella, I just run the software.....

    Obviously it holds you back when you have next to no space on the machine.....
     
  17. mikebatho thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2004
    Location:
    Greater Manchester UK
    #17
    No ideas...?

    My machine is running like a dead pig, and I have to back every job up individually, as there isn't the space to store them on the computer...

    Grrrrrrr
     
  18. thumb macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 8, 2005
    #18
    i find this program very useful:

    Disk Inventory X ().

    it will give you a graphical representation of where your data is.

    are there other accounts on your computer?
     
  19. bbrosemer macrumors 6502a

    bbrosemer

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2006
    #19
    If you download any torrents or any type of P2P files OS X recgonizes the final size of the file rather then the actual amount that you have downloaded. Just incase you are doing any of that ....
     
  20. robbieduncan Moderator emeritus

    robbieduncan

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2002
    Location:
    London
    #20
    Depends on your setup. You can have Azureus reserve all the space for a torrent to download into in which case the file is really that big. Or you can have it grab the space as it needs it.
     
  21. bbrosemer macrumors 6502a

    bbrosemer

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2006
    #21
    Just a suggestion because that is the inital setup on azureus, that it allocates the space during the inital downloading.
     
  22. Carson macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2006
    Location:
    Port townsend Wa
    #22
    Id run disk utility and see what that does, before I learned how to acctauly organize anything on my computer I had every thing on the desktop and it ****ed every thing up. Id just put every thing on a external and whipe the drive.
     
  23. 66217 Guest

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2006
  24. spacehog371 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2003
    #24
    my powerbook was eating my disk space daily... i had to do a clean install to fix it.
     
  25. wako macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2005
    #25
    Mike, are you sure you allowed OmniSweeper to scan through everything? It usually takes awhile before its done scanning through it all.


    I had the same problem, and I used OmniSweeper which was able to detect a hidden folder that was under the /vol. This happened to me because I had disconnected my external HDD while downloading. With OSX being retarded or the program (i blame OSX because on Windows it would have stopped all programs using the external), it just created a fake volume directory for the download to complete.
     

Share This Page