Where is Os 9?

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by aaronl23, May 26, 2005.

  1. aaronl23 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 25, 2005
    #1
    I have four Cd's Mac Panther 1,2&3 an d a G5 cd where is os 9 at?
     
  2. buryyourbrideau macrumors 65816

    buryyourbrideau

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2005
    Location:
    Chicago
  3. aaronl23 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 25, 2005
    #4
    What does the CD look like? Does it just include OS 9?
     
  4. wnameth macrumors 65816

    wnameth

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2004
    Location:
    Canada
    #5
    I have the OS9 disk if you want it.. 20-30 shipped
     
  5. wdlove macrumors P6

    wdlove

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2002
    #6
    It's no longer called OS 9. Now it's called Classic. It should have been installed along with Tiger. If you go into preference you will find the 9 icon, then you can bootup into Classic.
     
  6. Plymouthbreezer macrumors 601

    Plymouthbreezer

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2005
    Location:
    Massachusetts
    #7
    Boot in Classic??? On a G5? I wouldn't think so. My G4 is two years old and can't boot in Classic. I believe the cutoff for booting in Classic (OS 9.2.x) was January, 2003 (which sounds correct, as mine was built in late April 2003).
     
  7. Darwin macrumors 65816

    Darwin

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2003
    Location:
    round the corner
    #8
    wdlove meant that you boot into Classic from within OS X, of course all new macs cannot actually boot into OS 9 by itself
     
  8. Plymouthbreezer macrumors 601

    Plymouthbreezer

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2005
    Location:
    Massachusetts
    #9
    Well, yes, that's true...

    But to a Mac newbie, it could have been misunderstood that you can boot your computer in Classic.
     
  9. Darwin macrumors 65816

    Darwin

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2003
    Location:
    round the corner
    #10
    yes, there is that confusion there
     
  10. mad jew Moderator emeritus

    mad jew

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2004
    Location:
    Adelaide, Australia
    #11
    Well, Tiger didn't come on my new G5 iMac so I'm assuming iGary's right. Nevermind, no great loss.
     
  11. lazyboy922 macrumors 6502

    lazyboy922

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2003
    Location:
    Las Vegas, NV
    #12
    I have classic on my panther install disc, it seemed tough to find, but it was there.
     
  12. hob macrumors 68020

    hob

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2003
    Location:
    London, UK
    #13
    I didn't have to hunt for it with my old powerbook... or my new PowerMac... In both cases, it was on the second DVD... On the powerbook, you'd put it in and the dock would disappear leaving you with a "software restore" utility including the option to install OS 9 "support" i.e. classic...

    Hope that helps?
     
  13. SFVCyclone macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2005
    Location:
    Pasadena, Ca
    #14

    I still call it OS 9. I think its still 9, technically it is still 9.
     
  14. cb911 macrumors 601

    cb911

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2002
    Location:
    BrisVegas, Australia
    #15
    help installing Classic support on Tiger

    okay i've got my original Software Restore DVD that came with my PowerBook, and i just installed the Software Restore utility. but then when i start up the Soft Restore utility it says to "insert the disk with this picture" - showing the picture that's on the Software Restore disk. only trouble is the disk is already in my drive. :confused: i've tried ejecting and re-inserting the DVD an it makes no difference.

    anyone know how i can get Classic to restore?
     
  15. TDM21 macrumors 6502a

    TDM21

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2004
    #16
    I just looked at the restore dvds that came with my PB. on my 1st dvd there is a package labeled "Install Applications & Classic Support." I just double clicked on it and the installer did the rest.

    It is my understanding that OS 9 is now distributed in a similar way iLife is. What I mean is you get Classic with any new computer you buy, but it does not come with a copy of an OS. My PB came pre-installed with Classic, but when I did a fresh install of 10.4 I had to reinstall it from my PB's restore cds
     
  16. Lucky8 macrumors regular

    Lucky8

    Joined:
    May 18, 2005
    #17
    :D
    Why would you need OS9 anyway?
     
  17. FoxyKaye macrumors 68000

    FoxyKaye

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2004
    Location:
    San Francisco, Terre d'Ange, Bas Lag, Gallifrey
    #18
    Hey now - there's still some solid OS9 apps out there, for example, Adobe Streamline (vector image conversion program). It's the only reason I keep "classic" up and running - Adobe never did get this feature right in Illustrator.
     
  18. cb911 macrumors 601

    cb911

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2002
    Location:
    BrisVegas, Australia
    #19
    well i need it for Carmageddon 2. :D

    i did try copying the System Folder from an OS 9 install CD i had, but when i try to start Classic it says:
    Code:
    The system software on the startup disk only functions on the original media, not if copied to another drive.
    TDM21 - i did a fresh Tiger install right from the start, so i never had Classic on there.

    i did run the package ""Install Applications & Classic Support" but then when i run the Software Restore app it says to insert the Software Restore DVD - but if i do it does nothing. that's my problem. :confused:
     
  19. Nermal Moderator

    Nermal

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2002
    Location:
    New Zealand
    #20
    My iMac G5 came with Tiger preinstalled, but without OS 9 installed. However, there was an OS 9 (presumably Classic-only) DVD in the box.
     
  20. LimeiBook86 macrumors 604

    LimeiBook86

    Joined:
    May 4, 2002
    Location:
    Go Vegan
    #21
    <<<Now translating geek-speak into english>>>

    Mac OS 9 is discontinued. You can run Mac OS 9 applications in Mac OS X by using 'Classic', you will still need a Mac OS 9.1 (or later) CD-ROM to install a Mac OS 9 System Folder onto your computer's hard drive. Then you will be able to run Mac OS 9 applications using 'Classic' while in Mac OS X. Most Macintosh computers made after 2002 can not boot into Mac OS 9, they can only boot into Mac OS X and can only run Mac OS 9 applications through the 'Classic' emulator.

    If you need a Mac OS 9 CD-ROM some people here are selling them but, most newer Macintosh computers require Mac OS 9.1 or later so make sure the CD-ROM is version 9.1 and not 9.0

    Hope that helps! :D
     
  21. Eric5h5 macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2004
    #22
    This is untrue. You do not need an OS 9 CD-ROM. All you need is the "Additional software" disc that came with your computer. Put it in, double-click on "Install additional software," done. OS 9 is installed when you do that. It's version 9.2.2, which was an update specifically made to work better under emulation in the Classic environment.

    --Eric
     
  22. RacerX macrumors 65832

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2004
    #23
    Apple has included a copy of Mac OS 9 with every system that they have shipped since Mac OS 9 was first released. Yes, this includes new systems of today. The only difference is that Mac OS 9 is not installed at the factory anymore, it is up to the user to install Mac OS 9 in order to use the Classic environment.

    This is what Apple has to say on the subject:
    If you have a Power Mac G5, iBook, or iMac G5 that came with Mac OS X 10.3.4 or 10.3.7, you can install a Mac OS 9 System Folder from your Additional Software & Apple Hardware Test disc. If you have a Mac Mini or PowerBook that came with 10.3.7, you can install a Mac OS 9 System Folder from the disc labeled Mac OS 9 Install Disc.

    Out of the box, some Macintosh computers manufactured after June 2004 do not have Classic pre-installed, including iMac G5, Mac mini, and some Power Macintosh G5 computers. Classic is available on one of the Apple software discs that came with the computer, and you can install it if you need to.

    To install Classic support:
    1. Insert the disc that came with your computer that contains Classic support ("Additional Software & Apple Hardware Test" for iMac G5 and some Power Macintosh G5 computers, Software Restore discs for others--check the labels on the discs).
    2. Double-click the "Install Extra Software" icon.
    3. Follow the onscreen instructions.
    4. After selecting the destination disk for installation, continue following the onscreen instructions for a basic installation or click Customize to choose the applications you want to install.
     
  23. mklos macrumors 68000

    mklos

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2002
    Location:
    My house!
    #24
    Of course, this will change once MacTels ship. I seriously doubt Apple will port OS 9 to x86 anytime soon and I don't think Rosetta will make OS 9 run correctly. The shipping of MacTels will be the official death of OS 9(aka Classic IMO)
     
  24. LimeiBook86 macrumors 604

    LimeiBook86

    Joined:
    May 4, 2002
    Location:
    Go Vegan
    #25
    Well I know that, I was just under the impression that he didn't have the install disks available. :p
     

Share This Page