Where is the Aperture Update

Discussion in 'Digital Photography' started by zeppiecr, Nov 28, 2007.

  1. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2005
    #1
    Its time for some new features in Aperture...where is 2.0?
     
  2. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2006
    #2
    agreed. with all of the issues with leopard, i'm waiting to use time machine and my external. don't want to risk losing the image library.

    (i should probably burn to dvd's)
     
  3. macrumors 6502a

    yeroen

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2007
    Location:
    Cambridge, MA
    #3
    Yes, where is Aperture 2.0? I've been waiting along time.

    Enough already with all the iPods, iPhones, iShavers, iToasters and iCrockPots, Apple; move Aperture and other "pro" oriented items to the front of the priority queue.
     
  4. macrumors demi-goddess

    Clix Pix

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2005
    Location:
    8 miles from the Apple Store at Tysons (VA)
    #4
    I, too, am eagerly awaiting an Aperture update so that I can postprocess my RAW images from the D300 (and eventually the D3) in it!!! I am currently using Bridge and CS3 to do my PP but I really prefer the workflow I have with Photo Mechanic and Aperture. I also have waited to upgrade my Mac Pro to Leopard because of the reported issues with Aperture, Time Machine and Leopard.... While all the other machines in the house are purring happily along with Leopard, the Mac Pro still has the Tiger in its tank!
     
  5. macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2005
    #5
    I'm curious what does Photo Mechanic offer that Aperture doesn't??
     
  6. macrumors 68040

    Grimace

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2003
    Location:
    with Hamburglar.
    #6
    Yeah, bring some good features and I'll pay for an update!
     
  7. macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    May 1, 2003
    Location:
    PA
    #7
    Could not agree more. It's time. Let's hope they are actually working on the product, putting a decent emphasis on it's performance as well. Aperture is my life's blood for photography, but I'm tired of needed a machine that hasn't even been produced yet to run it smoothly. :)

    That said, I'd pay anything for an update. I love the product, and truly look forward to some innovation.
     
  8. macrumors demi-goddess

    Clix Pix

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2005
    Location:
    8 miles from the Apple Store at Tysons (VA)
    #8

    I use Photo Mechanic for my first run-through of images because it loads them even more quickly than Aperture or any other software. I review the images and cull out the bad ones, then take only the ones I'm going to actually post-process into Aperture and carry on from there.
     
  9. thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2005
    #9
    Actually the D3 & D300 will come in 10.5.2 not aperture 2.0
     
  10. macrumors 6502a

    yeroen

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2007
    Location:
    Cambridge, MA
    #10
    What I'd like to see most in Aperture 2.0 is an extension of the Aperture API beyond the current (trivial) import/export functionality and towards a full-fledged image-processing plugin-architecture. I also use DXO heavily for post-processing work and it's has hooks into Lightroom that allow it to iterate over your Lightroom photo libraries. In Aperture, I either have to manually export the original or store it as a referenced image, and import-and-stack the DXO corrected jpegs back into my aperture project. Because of this, I find myself eyeing Lightroom these days, even though I use and prefer Aperture for almost everything else.
     
  11. macrumors 68000

    mcarnes

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2004
    Location:
    USA! USA!
    #11
    It's long over due. Some basic lens fix tools would be nice, like ACR has had for years.
     

Share This Page