Where is the CPU located in the iMac G3?

Discussion in 'PowerPC Macs' started by LOLZpersonok, Oct 14, 2012.

  1. macrumors 6502a

    LOLZpersonok

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2012
    Location:
    Calgary, Canada
    #1
    Is it located by the CRT or underneath the computer? I don't know because I didn't find any heatsinks.
     
  2. macrumors 68040

    AlphaDogg

    Joined:
    May 20, 2010
    Location:
    Boulder, CO
    #2
    There is one, but it's tiny; about 1cm thick.

    It's under the CRT, about 6 inches behind the disc drive.
     
  3. macrumors P6

    Intell

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2010
    Location:
    Inside
    #3
    I'm assuming you have a slot loading G3 iMac, because the tray loading ones have a heat sink. If the iMac is upside down with the white bottom cover off, the CPU is located on the CRT side of the logicboard. It uses the EMI shield between the two halves as a heat sink with a heat dissipation pad between them. It is roughly located in the middle of the logicboard. You can tell where it is because you'll see a large square patter of traces and solder points on the logicboard.
     
  4. macrumors 68040

    AlphaDogg

    Joined:
    May 20, 2010
    Location:
    Boulder, CO
    #4
    Oops I forgot those slot loading ones existed..
     
  5. macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2005
    Location:
    Australia
    #5
    On a daughter card on the logic board that pulls out from the tray under the CRT.
     
  6. macrumors P6

    Intell

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2010
    Location:
    Inside
    #6
    Slot loading CRT iMacs don't have a daughter card. The CPU is soldered directly to the logicboard.
     
  7. macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2005
    Location:
    Australia
    #7
    Ahh cool, I've never had to completely tear down a slot loader, only along time ago did I open up the door of one to install some RAM. Never owned a slot loader, only the Rev A Bondi Blue one with the IR port and mezanine slot.
     
  8. macrumors 6502

    MAC MAN JW

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2011
    Location:
    Buffalo,Ny
    #8
    I had a spare logic board off a 500MHz slot loading iMac g3 so i pulled it out to take a pic.:) The CPU is the silver chip in the picture.

    iMac G3 SL CPU.JPG

    iMac G3 SL Logic .JPG
     
  9. thread starter macrumors 6502a

    LOLZpersonok

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2012
    Location:
    Calgary, Canada
    #9
    Ah yes, I have an idea now. I guess I didn't recall it until I saw your post. I think the small heatsink I saw may be it. Thanks, I was really wondering about it.

    ----------

    The IBM chip? Did IBM manufacture the PowerPC CPU's in the older Macs?

    ----------

    I already know that. It's unfortunate that they didn't include it on a Daughtercard, the CPU could have been upgradeable.

    ----------

    Yeah, it's the slot-loading 350MHz iMac G3. I think I remember seeing it, but before I wasn't sure what it was because it was so small.
     
  10. macrumors 68040

    AlphaDogg

    Joined:
    May 20, 2010
    Location:
    Boulder, CO
    #10
    PowerPC processors were indeed manufactured by IBM.
     
  11. macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2005
    Location:
    Australia
  12. thread starter macrumors 6502a

    LOLZpersonok

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2012
    Location:
    Calgary, Canada
    #12
    Oh okay, thanks.
     
  13. macrumors P6

    Intell

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2010
    Location:
    Inside
    #13
    Pre-G3, G3, and G5 were IBM. G4's were Motorola. IBM, Apple, and Motorola all had a part in making all four versions.
     

Share This Page