Where to buy Mini-Toslink apapter in Sydney, Australia?

Discussion in 'Apple TV and Home Theater' started by sammich, Aug 6, 2009.

  1. macrumors 601

    sammich

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2006
    Location:
    Sarcasmville.
    #1
    We just picked up a cheap Yamaha AV Receiver and I wanted to connect the MBP to the amp properly. ATM, I've got a very pitiful 3.5mm to Stereo RCA connection which is alright for the time being.

    I've already got the toslink cable so I don't want to shell out for a cable which bundles the little $1 adapter.

    Does anyone in the Sydney area know where I can pick these little things up? Went Dick Smith/Harvey Norman/Apple Store etc and they don't carry it. I was especially surprised that Dick Smith didn't carry it (oddly dse.co.nz has it on their site, not on the au site).

    Thanks in advance,
    Sammich.
     
  2. macrumors P6

    DoFoT9

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2007
    Location:
    Singapore
    #2
    search staticice.com.au, results will show :)

    p.s. i thought toslink could plug directly into the MBP??
     
  3. thread starter macrumors 601

    sammich

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2006
    Location:
    Sarcasmville.
    #3
    I should bookmark that site.....done.

    Toslink has a square-ish end and is a bit bigger than 3.5mm.
    [​IMG]
     
  4. macrumors P6

    DoFoT9

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2007
    Location:
    Singapore
    #4
    right.. i must be thinking of a different plug/the adaptor you are talking about.

    the site is amazing, finds anything comput-ery :) did you find anything lol?
     
  5. thread starter macrumors 601

    sammich

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2006
    Location:
    Sarcasmville.
    #5
    Found one thing on the streetwise but that was the entire cable (still quite cheap) and would consider getting it but it's only one metre long.

    I have known about this site (cablechick) but I didn't want to pay $9 shipping on a $7 item. AND now I'm a little annoyed because I went ahead and bought a belkin HDMI-HDMI cable from the Apple Store yesterday which I could've bought off that site and saved money even with the shipping.

    Oh well. Should I burn the $16 for a $1 adapter or find someone in NZ to send it to me (called DSE Cust. Help and they said they couldn't send one from over over the pond, ridiculous).
     
  6. macrumors P6

    DoFoT9

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2007
    Location:
    Singapore
    #6
    streetwise is really reliable :) but often quite expensive. i would rate them the best non-retail mac reseller.

    i have purchased from cablechick before, they are so cheap and very quick! they are based at brisbane i think (im on the NSW/QLD border), really nice people they sent us a Mintie in our last package!

    tbh i would just purchase it from them cablechick.. nice people.
     
  7. thread starter macrumors 601

    sammich

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2006
    Location:
    Sarcasmville.
    #7
    Cool, thanks for the review. I think i'll grab some other stuff from them while I'm shopping there. Need to cable up the surround then maybe I'll post it to the Home Theatre setup thread.

    Rather ridiculous watching a 6.1 HD movie in 2 channels.
     
  8. macrumors P6

    DoFoT9

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2007
    Location:
    Singapore
    #8
    awsome im around there all the time :) very cheap so its def worth it.

    :eek:! tsktsk haha. i know how you mean though, at the moment i am just using my TV speakers! terrible sound, need to invest in a home theatre.
     
  9. thread starter macrumors 601

    sammich

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2006
    Location:
    Sarcasmville.
    #9
    I've noticed...you like live on these forums.

    Setup is brilliant except the PS3 is only spitting out 2 channel audio, even when I'm watching bloody Casino Royale on BD.
     
  10. macrumors P6

    DoFoT9

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2007
    Location:
    Singapore
    #10
    i know haha, kinda sad isnt it. im just trying to gain knowledge and help people



    wish i could afford a PS3, would be a great experience. i wonder why Sony made it only have 2 channel audio? biggest waste IMO.
     
  11. thread starter macrumors 601

    sammich

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2006
    Location:
    Sarcasmville.
    #11
    Spend a couple of months on this place and you will literally be over qualified for a job at a Genius bar :D

    It's fixed now, I guess a restart fixed it all up. PS3 came with the TV, I don't think I would've ever bought it otherwise.
     
  12. macrumors P6

    DoFoT9

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2007
    Location:
    Singapore
    #12
    haha apparently not, i applied at the new Robina Apple Store, they apparently didnt like me very much because they didnt hire me!!

    i guess Apple dont hire people that know stuff... :rolleyes:

    what an odd occurrence. technology these days!

    ahh with the TV, i see :) too bad i cant afford one of those either :p uni has its bad points haha
     
  13. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2012
    #13
    Cable

    Well for one thing cheap and quality rarely go together, But I did find an australian site that got me professional cables for my system for really low prices. Seriously, quality cables can make all the difference. Their site was www.customHT.com.au
     

Share This Page