Where to Buy Printer Ink?

Discussion in 'Buying Tips and Advice' started by Blazer5913, Oct 22, 2006.

1. Blazer5913 macrumors 6502

I am a college student and just ran out of ink. Never did it cross my mind that I would have to buy my own ink before. So we've been out of ink for three days now and I'm finally getting around to gettting some extras. I have a Canon Pixma IP6220D printer. Where is a great place to get good deals on printer ink? Also, does anybody else have this printer? We run out of black ink in like two weeks, but when I look in the printer, we only have a Color Ink Cartridge and Photo Ink Cartidge (Cl51 and Cl52). Am I getting the wrong type of ink? thanks alot guys

2. iSaint macrumors 603

iSaint

Wow, wake up to reality! :)

Printer ink is pricey no matter where you shop. If you're lucky, you can find a two-pack that's priced a little better. Wal-Mart may be a little cheaper than Office Max or Office Depot. Just shop around.

3. orangezorki macrumors 6502a

Search the net well as well. I'm not sure if there are compatible cartridges available, but I've been able to get carts here in the UK for about a fifth of the price of the official ones. - www.tonik.co.uk never let me down when I used inkjets.

One idea is to get a laser printer if you mainly print text - the running costs are an order of magnitude lower than inkjets.

David

4. bousozoku Moderator emeritus

Welcome to the real world.

I generally buy from Staples but sometimes buy from OfficeMax or Office Depot. Staples has some quantity discounts and recycling rebates for returned ink cartridges. Sam's Club also has deals on many cartridges.

If you're not doing colour-sensitive artwork or printing photos, you should be able to use reputable compatible cartridges from a company other than Canon. There are many that I've seen.

5. Blazer5913 thread starter macrumors 6502