Where to get RAM for MBP in UK?

Discussion in 'Buying Tips and Advice' started by xcalibur, Apr 7, 2006.

  1. xcalibur macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2003
    Location:
    Kuala Lumpur
    #1
    I have been looking around and normally Crucial offers decent prices but their DDR2 667MHz sodimm ram is too expensive(£125). I have manged to find it at £75 for a 1GB stick which is a good price but it's a Transcend stick, anyone using this in your MBP or other laptop? Any bad experiences? The cheapest 1GB I can find after the Transcend is Kingston for £100 a stick. I am surprised by the lack of DDR2 667 memory available from PC etailers. Most of them only offer good choices of the 533 variant. Maybe it might be better sticking to 512MB and waiting for supply to go up and drop the prices.
     
  2. MIDI_EVIL macrumors 65816

    MIDI_EVIL

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2006
    Location:
    UK
    #2

    But then you'll end up spending more than you would have originally.

    If you really need it, get it now!

    Rich.
     
  3. Queso macrumors G4

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2006
    #3
    I would pay the premium for the Crucial RAM. I've bought that for a number of Macs in my business and never had a problem with it, even when the Mac is then upgraded to a new OS version. Worth the extra for the piece of mind.
     
  4. xcalibur thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2003
    Location:
    Kuala Lumpur
    #5
    I don't understand what you mean. If I held out from buying RAM now I won't be spending anything.

    It was ok when the premium was 5-10% (I bought Crucial Ram for my last 3 Macs) but now it's more than 50%!
     
  5. Roba macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2006
    #6
    I think that Kingston is the best in doing third party ram. I bought the Kingston ram and it works a treat.
     
  6. londonguy macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2006
    #7
    I would purchase the £75 ram, the worst that can happen is that it does not work properly in which case you can send it back and get a refund. I have just purchased the £75 ram and am waiting for it to be shipped.
     
  7. CanadaRAM macrumors G5

    CanadaRAM

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2004
    Location:
    On the Left Coast - Victoria BC Canada
    #8
    Kingston is currently backordered on their DDR2-667 SODIMMs, and Crucial, while they have them available, cranked their price up by 25% in the last month.

    When you look at Kingston, you have to remember that there are two product lines, the KVR- ValueRAM line, which is the PC generic RAM and hot guaranteed to be compatible with Macs,. and the KTA- line which are thye tested and guarnetted Mac compatible models.
     
  8. CanadaRAM macrumors G5

    CanadaRAM

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2004
    Location:
    On the Left Coast - Victoria BC Canada
    #9
    The worst that can happen is that when you send it back for refund, you get charged 15% restocking fee plus you are out up to £10 shipping in both directions...

    No, strike that, the worst that can happen is that the RAM is incompatible, but manages to pass the power-on tests, and progressively crashes the machine and/or corrupts the data on your machine by throwing memory errors.

    If you do put in generic RAM, run Apple Hardware test at least twice in succession to test the RAM.
     
  9. xcalibur thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2003
    Location:
    Kuala Lumpur
    #10
    Well the website that's selling it for £75 claims it is 100% guaranteed to work with the Macbook pro. The site itself looks decent and has a similar layout to crucial and kingston but you never know :(

    This is it, anyone currently using their ram?

    http://www.orcalogic.co.uk

    When is your ram arriving? I haven't actually ordered my MBP yet so I am still looking around for the RAM. Did you find any other brands other than kingston/crucial? Thanks.
     
  10. CanadaRAM macrumors G5

    CanadaRAM

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2004
    Location:
    On the Left Coast - Victoria BC Canada
    #11
    I have never dealt with them but I have heard their name before and they seem to be reputable, The main thing is the vendor guarantes MacBook compatibility, that means that they should be responsible for the costs if it doesn't work.
     
  11. deebster macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2004
    Location:
    Olde Englande
    #12
    Good news!

    Last time I used their memory finder it did not include the current Intel Macs and now it does.

    If them leading you to the RAM they say is compatible is not sufficient reason for a full refund should it turn out not to be (read that again, it does make sense :)) then I don't know what is.

    I have definitely seen posts on these forums saying it worked in the Intel iMac, so if I were you (and I plan to be very soon once I can bring myself to splash out a cool £1200 quid or so) then I'd go for it.

    Bear in mind though that last month this very RAM shot up to over £100 for a week or two. Hopefully the price now will remain more static, but you never know.

    If you do order it please report back to let us know how it performs, including the hardware test as Trevor said.

    **Edit

    This thread has a couple of posters saying the RAM worked fine in their Intel iMacs, and that was before the website guaranteed Mac compatibility. I haven't found any MacBook user reports though.

    Perhaps if BakedBeans or arcsbite read this thread you could let us know if you've had any problems?
     
  12. londonguy macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2006
    #13
    Hey there matey,

    I recieved my memory from Orcalogic today, installed in my macbook and it works like a dream.

    Go ahead and purchase some it definetley works and it only costs £75.
     
  13. xcalibur thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2003
    Location:
    Kuala Lumpur
    #14
    Great to hear that. Did you run the Apple hardware test? Sometimes bad memory might boot up but when you stress test it, it fails. If it works fine I will be ordering 2x1GB sticks very soon :) They might not know that their prices are significantly lower than the competition and decide to increase soon.
     
  14. londonguy macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2006
    #15
    Hi there mate,

    I ran the hard ware test twice and it found no problems. Apple also recognises the ram correctly.

    Go ahead and get it, i would have bought it from Crucial but their prices are too high.
     

Share This Page