Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

JoelBC

macrumors 6502a
Original poster
Jun 16, 2012
I am new to mac and have discovered that many apps are available from both the App Store as well as directly from the developer's website...

I am interested in feedback as to whether I am better off purchasing from the app store or the developer as well as why...

Thanks in advance,

Joel

firedept

macrumors 603
Jul 8, 2011
Somewhere!
I am new to mac and have discovered that many apps are available from both the App Store as well as directly from the developer's website...

I am interested in feedback as to whether I am better off purchasing from the app store or the developer as well as why...

Thanks in advance,

Joel

I purchase from both the app store & developers. I sometimes find I can get a better deal by buying directly from the developer. There are many discounts to be found with a simple Google search. The other reason is, if I have a problem I can then deal directly with a developer which is sometimes easier to do. Smaller priced apps are hard to find deals on so it is just easier to deal with app store. Most smaller apps will generally have less problems and solutions are easy to find with a quick search. It also can depends on whether you can buy directly from the developer. Some can only be purchased through the app store. This is how I deal with my purchases but I am sure others will certainly take a different approach.

Sital

macrumors 68020
May 31, 2012
New England
I buy both ways. If there is no difference between the web version and the App Store version I'll buy from the App Store. However, I have run into cases where, due to Apple's restrictions, the App Store version has less functionality. In these cases, I buy from the developer directly.

flynz4

macrumors 68040
Aug 9, 2009
Portland, OR