where you put that dock?

Discussion in 'General Mac Discussion' started by AmbitiousLemon, Mar 23, 2002.

  1. AmbitiousLemon Moderator emeritus

    AmbitiousLemon

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2001
    Location:
    down in Fraggle Rock
    #1
    i started off with it on the bottom since thats where apple had it. mmoved it to the top for awhile. and have had it on the right ever since. seems to work best for me on the right, but i was wondering what other people's experiences were.

    [damn i was going to make a poll, forgot went to delete and remake it and i cant delete my post]

    so here is what i was thinking for the poll:

    a) on the bottom because thats where apple put it and i let apple do all my thinking

    b) on the top because im crazy like that

    c) on the left because i like to pretend im on a pc

    d) on the right because i like to pretend im using the classic os

    e) i keep it hidden and never use it
     
  2. Ensign Paris macrumors 68000

    Ensign Paris

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2001
    Location:
    Europe
    #2
    My dock is in the bottom left hand corner, I don't use it all that much.

    Ensign
     

    Attached Files:

  3. Pepzhez macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2002
    #3
    I'm forced to hide the dock because apps keep opening behind it. I know this has to do with the way the apps are written, and not necessarily an OS X problem. But you would think that Apple would have thought to make Final Cut Pro 3 dock-aware ... (They didn't.)
     
  4. blakespot Administrator

    blakespot

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2000
    Location:
    Alexandria, VA
    #4
    Left side of screen on the left monitor (of my two).


    blakespot
     
  5. eyelikeart Moderator emeritus

    eyelikeart

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2001
    Location:
    Metairie, LA
    #5
    sure blackspot....brag about the fact u have 2 monitors....he he he...

    I keep my dock hidden to the left....sometimes I get confused when I go to work and I'm back on 9....I'll immediately drag left to change applications instead of the finder menu... ;)
     
  6. DakotaGuy macrumors 68040

    DakotaGuy

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2002
    Location:
    South Dakota, USA
    #6
    I put it in hiding and on the bottom of my screen. I use it quite a bit, but have found anywhere other then the bottom gets into my desktop icons and toolbars. I also find that it is annoying if it is not hidden because it hangs over the window you are working in. Anyhow when you pull the mouse down it pops right up...I kinda like it as I have gotten used to it.
     
  7. blackpeter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2001
    #7
    I'll admit... I've tinkered with every position. Corners. Sides. Top.

    Mine's staying at the bottom. It just seems to feel much better there. For me, at least, Apple picked the most intuitive spot.
     
  8. Ensign Paris macrumors 68000

    Ensign Paris

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2001
    Location:
    Europe
    #8
    Ok, I am trying a new position, top right have corner.

    Ensign
     
  9. Hemingray macrumors 68030

    Hemingray

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2002
    Location:
    Ha ha haaa!
    #9
    I keep mine on the right. Vertical real estate is more valuable in my opinion. (I'm running 1024x768).
     
  10. sparkleytone macrumors 68020

    sparkleytone

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2001
    Location:
    Greensboro, NC
    #10
  11. buffsldr macrumors 6502a

    buffsldr

    Joined:
    May 7, 2001
    #11
    Right side. Smallish in size. I have both hard drive icons there so i can navigate to anything on the comp
     
  12. Choppaface macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2002
    Location:
    SFBA
    #12
    upper left side. I use ASM to automatically hide it for PS and illustrator and any other classic apps I have to run in it
     
  13. arn macrumors god

    arn

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2001
    #13
    I also have 2 monitors...

    Left with nothing
    Right with Menu bar and Dock on Right side

    You're more likely to miss vertical space than horizontal space... so if you can get used to it... a side docked-dock seems the best way to go

    arn
     
  14. sjs macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2002
    Location:
    GA
    #14
    hidden, on the left.
    I also have two monitors, but one's at the office.
     
  15. Rower_CPU Moderator emeritus

    Rower_CPU

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2001
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    #15
    Right-side, pinned to the bottom. 50-60% of screen height

    Left-side: Felt wrong

    Bottom (visible): Classic apps keep popping behind it. Lost vertical real-estate.

    Bottom (hidden): Saves room, but why keep Mail open if you can't just look at it to see if you have new messages?

    Right-side: Pinned to bottom is best so that a couple of files and foders can co-exist right above it. The rest get bumped over.

    Who knows, I'll probably find something else I like better, but this is the most comfortable way I've found so far.

    BTW, What app/hack lets you move it to the top?
     
  16. Beej macrumors 68020

    Beej

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2002
    Location:
    Buffy's bedroom
    #16
    LOL! Good one sjs :D

    I keep mine on the right, pinned to the bottom, about 60% high (1600x1200). It's transparent with a white border, and has white 'this app is active' triangles.

    I use the Dock a lot... I'm interested in why (and how) others live without using it much.
     
  17. AmbitiousLemon thread starter Moderator emeritus

    AmbitiousLemon

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2001
    Location:
    down in Fraggle Rock
    #17
    howd you make the triangles white?

    do you guys remember the blue triangle for the frontmost app? anyway of doing this in the newer versions of x (10.1.3 to be specific)
     
  18. irmongoose macrumors 68030

    irmongoose

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2001
    Location:
    Sometimes Tokyo, sometimes California
    #18
  19. Beej macrumors 68020

    Beej

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2002
    Location:
    Buffy's bedroom
    #19
    Wow, irmongoose, you're a real gentleman! He he.

    Yeah, TransparentDock 1.5.7 is what I used. It's got a shocking UI, but it works, so it'll do for the moment.
     
  20. Rower_CPU Moderator emeritus

    Rower_CPU

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2001
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    #20

Share This Page