Where's my Lacie icon???

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by GregUofMN, Feb 28, 2006.

  1. GregUofMN macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2003
    #1
    Does anybody know why my Lacie external 250GB drive with the blue light isn't connecting with my PB FW800? I just loaded a bunch of stuff on it and I tried to disconnect it properly, by moving the Lacie Icon to the Trash, but it said that something was busy working. I waited a couple minutes and tried again. Same thing. Now I just tried pulling the cord out of my laptop and I got a message that said that the things that I was trasfering may be lost or corrupt. I made sure that I was not in the process of copying data when i tried to eject the device nor was it doing anything when I pulled the plug out.

    I tried rebooting my PB and re-plugging in the Lacie cord, but it still doesn't automatically appear on my desktop like it used to do. I tried shutting everyting down, waiting a few minutes, and started everything up. Still no luck.

    Anybody got any options for me...?
     
  2. 2nyRiggz macrumors 603

    2nyRiggz

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2005
    Location:
    Thank you Jah...I'm so Blessed
    #2
    first of, was you running anything that was saved on your External drive?....it sounds like something was still up and running. Second...dude NEVER pull your lappy,HD or whatever out from its power sorce....you can cause damage to your stuff.

    Maybe your drive was having a slow day today and you unpluged it at a bad time


    Bless
     
  3. jadekitty24 macrumors 65816

    jadekitty24

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2005
    Location:
    The poor section of Connecticut
    #3
    I could be wrong, but it sounds like you interrupted a backup in progress. If that is the case there really isn't much you can do.
     
  4. mjstew33 macrumors 601

    mjstew33

    Joined:
    May 29, 2005
    Location:
    Illinois
    #4
    Hmmm... I wonder if you damaged a port when you took it out. :eek:
     
  5. mjstew33 macrumors 601

    mjstew33

    Joined:
    May 29, 2005
    Location:
    Illinois
    #5
    your saying his HD is screwed? phf. :rolleyes:
     
  6. GregUofMN thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2003
    #6
    I guess my question is more, why is it not regestering that the item is plugged in and turned on, on my desktop. It has always been an auto-discovered item.

    I can easily go back and re-back up my stuff... I was just saving my Safari Bookmarks.
     
  7. GregUofMN thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2003
    #7

    I hope your yanking my chain... what the hell is going on? I just tried using USB cables as opposed to the firewire cords that I was previously using. Still nothing. It's as if my PB is refusing to acknowledge that it got an external harddrive plugged in it.

    What gives?
     
  8. Vader macrumors 65816

    Vader

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2004
    Location:
    St. Louis, MO
    #8
    You realize this is not the powerbook's fault, right?
    you unplugged when it said not to, your drive may be ruined. Does it show up in Disk Utility?
     
  9. GregUofMN thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2003
    #9
    That's the thing. I did wait until it was done transfering. When I tried to eject the drive twice, I got no response. I waited and finally just pulled the cord. In hindsight, I guess I should have waited.

    DO you really think my external drive is junk now? How does that happen?
     
  10. Vader macrumors 65816

    Vader

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2004
    Location:
    St. Louis, MO
    #10
    If it tells you it is doing something, it is probably doing something, or thinks it is. You might have had a program running that had been using a file off of it, the drive might have just been unhappy, or it just wanted you to quit all running apps and then try it again (making sure no app is using it)
     
  11. GregUofMN thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2003
    #11

    So how can I be friends with it again and when/how will it play nice with my powerbook?
     
  12. Vader macrumors 65816

    Vader

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2004
    Location:
    St. Louis, MO
    #12
    Check if it shows up in Disk Utility when you rev it up and plug it in.
     
  13. GregUofMN thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2003
    #13
    Are you still there, Vader? Can you help me walk through this?

    I did find it in Disk Utility. SHould I do "First Aid" and "Repair Disc"?
     
  14. jadekitty24 macrumors 65816

    jadekitty24

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2005
    Location:
    The poor section of Connecticut
    #14
    Yeah buddy, that's EXACTLY what I said. Actually READ the post and you wont be so confused. His hard drive isn't screwed, the data he attempted to load might be lost. :rolleyes:
    Let me know if that isn't clear enough, for I can bring myself to 3rd grade level if needed.
     

Share This Page