which brand of drives are OSX bootable?

Discussion in 'macOS' started by thevessels, May 8, 2005.

  1. thevessels macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2004
    #1
    so i tried to make my 80GB lacie porche drive bootable
    and it wouldnt go
    it just kept giving me the message "this drive is not bootable"
    i tried re-erasing is a few times - but still nothing
    is there certain drives that are known to be OSX bootable friendly - and others that arnt ?
    im thinkin ill get a western or maxtor ... good or not ?
    -chris
     
  2. yellow Moderator emeritus

    yellow

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2003
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    #2
    Any drive that has a bootable copy of OS X installed on it should work just fine. Manufacturers don't matter.
    How were you trying to make it a bootable disk? What was installed on it?
     
  3. hodgjy macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2005
    #3
    As long as the drive is Firewire 400 or 800 (and I think--not completely sure if it has to be formatted in HFS+ or not) you can boot off it.
     
  4. PlaceofDis macrumors Core

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2004
    #4
    well i when i tried to make my maxtor external drive bootable it wouldnt let me at frist until i partioned it..... dont know why that had any effect on it though
     
  5. Dm84 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2005
    Location:
    Allston, MA
    #5
    You can't install OS X on a partition that isn't formatted in HFS+.
     
  6. thevessels thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2004
    #6
    the external drive has to be firewire ?
    usb 2 is no good ? ( i didnt think it was THAT much slower )

    ill look into this HFS biz .. thanks
     
  7. yellow Moderator emeritus

    yellow

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2003
    Location:
    Portland, OR
  8. mad jew Moderator emeritus

    mad jew

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2004
    Location:
    Adelaide, Australia
    #8
    It might just be a vicious myth, but I'm pretty sure you can only boot from a firewire external, not a USB (2.0 or otherwise).
     
  9. cube macrumors G4

    Joined:
    May 10, 2004
    #9
    You can format it UFS, but it cannot be used by OS 9.
     
  10. Yaja123 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2005
    #10
    it has to be hfs+.

    i have a 250gb firewire lacie porsche and although i havent made it bootable, i do specifically remember this being a definate requirement.

    use lacie's "Silverkeeper" - a free program from their website or version tracker, it does exactly what u want.

    u dont need to buy a differetnt drive... and actually the lacie porsche is a maxtor with diff packaging. they are all the same.

    use the sliverkeeper program, it has a "do u want to make this a bootable drive" option.
     
  11. hodgjy macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2005
    #11
    You can also install OS X on Unix File System, but Apple doesn't support it.
     
  12. thevessels thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2004
    #12
    you guys have helped alot - thanks !
    im gonna try out silverkeeper tonight - and see if the "firewire only" myth is true and get back to you guys
    -chris
     
  13. Yaja123 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2005
    #13
    taken from silverkeeper help

    "SilverKeeper 1.1 adds the ability to make a bootable backup of your boot drive. SilverKeeper will permit you to make a copy of your boot drive to another internal or external hard drive. Advanced users may also use a disc image file to make a single boot image of their drive. You cannot make a bootable copy to a network volume or to a PC-formatted disk. The external drive must be formatted with a Macintosh Extended volume (HFS+)."
     
  14. Dm84 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2005
    Location:
    Allston, MA
    #14
    Thanks for the info. Although I don't think I'll be formatting any drives in UFS.
     
  15. hodgjy macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2005
    #15
    No problem. I wouldn't recommend it either. I think Apple put it in for specific apps under X11 that might need UFS. I could be wrong...
     

Share This Page