Which browser do you use?

Discussion in 'General Mac Discussion' started by stoid, Mar 16, 2002.

?

Which browser do you use??

  1. Internet Explorer

    4 vote(s)
    50.0%
  2. Netscape

    1 vote(s)
    12.5%
  3. OmniWeb

    3 vote(s)
    37.5%
  4. Other

    0 vote(s)
    0.0%
  1. stoid macrumors 601

    stoid

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2002
    Location:
    So long, and thanks for all the fish!
    #1
    Which browser do you use? Why, what are its strong points? Weak points?
     
  2. Choppaface macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2002
    Location:
    SFBA
    #2
    IE because it renders pages how theyre supposed to look
     
  3. mac15 macrumors 68040

    mac15

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2001
    Location:
    Sydney
  4. kishba macrumors 6502a

    kishba

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2001
    Location:
    Michigan
    #4
    omniweb because it rox

    it has nice font rendering and makes everything look good

    although i do wish some javascript would work... and i wish macromedia would install plugins for it instead of forcing me to do it manually (minor complaint, but a complaint no less)
     
  5. Beej macrumors 68020

    Beej

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2002
    Location:
    Buffy's bedroom
  6. Rower_CPU Moderator emeritus

    Rower_CPU

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2001
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    #6
    As much as I hate MS, I still think they have the best browser available. I've tried iCab, Mozilla, Netscape, Chimera and they all are either slow, or incomplete.

    I do a lot of web work, so it's important to have a browser that meets most of the W3C standards. Right now IE is it for me.
     
  7. mac15 macrumors 68040

    mac15

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2001
    Location:
    Sydney
    #7

    what do you mean 1337
     
  8. Rower_CPU Moderator emeritus

    Rower_CPU

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2001
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    #8
    Isn't that hacker-speak for "elite"?

    As in: I am an 31337 hAX0r! I 0wn j00!

    LOL
     
  9. Beej macrumors 68020

    Beej

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2002
    Location:
    Buffy's bedroom
    #9
    Rower_CPU is right - it's hacker speak, if that's what you want to call it...

    Anyway, 900|) ||_|(|< 1f `/0|_| <@|\| |_|/|/|)3|257@|\||) 7|-||5. `/0|_| |>|20|348|`/ \^/|11 h4/3 4 |-|3|_|_ 0f @ 7||\/|3 7|2`/||\|9 +0 |)0 50 |33(@|_|53 `/0|_| @|23 |\|07 4|\| 1337 h4X0r 1||<3 |\/|3!

    :D :D :D
     
  10. King Cobra macrumors 603

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2002
    #10
    I have been using Netscape 6.2.1 for a while. It works fast under dial-up.

    I plan to still use Netscape after the switch to Cable.
     
  11. PCUser macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2002
    #11
    Translation:

    "Good luck if you can understand this. You probably have a hell of a time trying to do so because you are not an elite hacker like me!"

    Hopefully, that craze of mangling the English language will die off.
     
  12. Beej macrumors 68020

    Beej

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2002
    Location:
    Buffy's bedroom
    #12
    Close. :)

    And you're right. Mangling the English language is crazy, it's already mangled enough! English is whacky.
     
  13. macfreek57 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2002
    Location:
    Baton Rouge, Louisiana
    #13
    internet explorer (only for os x) is one of the 3 good programs to ever come from microsoft. that, windows98 (which i guess is not really a 'program'), and Age of Empires (the first one).
    i never liked ie before this version although it does have it's down sides: only superficial stuff like when you open the download manager (wich is awesome and that's where netscape dies) it won't scroll to the bottom automatically.
    netscape for X is dumb and slow (since the AOL people got a hold of it and made it crap)
    omniweb is great except for the all-too-oftem crashes and the fact that the status animated icon is not big or noticable enough. i need to be able to see out of the corner of my eye if a page is loading. the download manager is a little clunky.
    iCab i haven't tried much but it seems like nothing special.

    i need to run my messages through stuffit before posting them
     

Share This Page