Which digital camera? help im a newbie.

Discussion in 'Mac Accessories' started by inlimbo, May 21, 2005.

1. inlimbo macrumors 6502

My dad is looking at buying a point and shoot digital camera max $700AUD (about $530US) not a DSLR (I know how great they are, but their too big and expensive and I don't really need one).

I don't know anything about cameras and know even less about digital cameras. My dad was a photographer but isn't too great with technology - so we are a bit at a loss. He just wants something that is automatic, easy to use.

It needs to be OS X campable and work with iPhoto

Here are the requirements:
    5 or more megapixels
    2 - 2.5 inch LCD screen
    Lithium battery (Don't wanna have to keep changing AA batteries)
    3 x (or more) optical zoom

The Nikon Coolpix s1 and 5900 look quite good. Canon and Olympus look like there stuff is good too.

Batteries? We dont want to have to keep changing AAs or mucking around with pulling them in and out to recharge them. Do digital cameras eat through the AAs? How much extra juice do u get out of the lithiums? Thats why I put the requirement for the lithium battery. Please correct me on this.

What do u recommend?

Yes I have read all the posts on digital cameras but Im still a bit overwhelmed by it all.
    Thanx very very very much in advance.

2. James Philp macrumors 65816

James Philp

1. Great work on the specification - you've already done most of the work!
    2. The spec is so specified you should be able to narrow the choice down to 1-2 models in each manufacturers range. So all you need do is choose a manufacturer.
    3. I'd go with nikon (love my D70) for build, but the old canon compact i have (a v3) is also well sturdy.

Just find a camera that meets your spec, and if its made by a long-standing camera maker, you are unlikely to get a bad bit of kit.