Which ibook package?

Discussion in 'Buying Tips, Advice and Discussion (archive)' started by Red Belly, Jun 9, 2005.

1. Red Belly macrumors member

This is not a yet another "when are the new ibooks due out" thread!

I am buying an ibook. I am going to wait for the upgrade. I will then be a switcher. I currently run win98se on a creaking Gateway Pentium III 550 with a 10Gig HD and 368RAM. In the meantime I have almost decided what I would buy if I HAD to buy now.

The powerbooks are out of my budget, plus I don't think I need the extra power. I actually like the look of the ibook better. I have narrowed it down to two options as follows and would appreciate any input/opinion for or against either option. My pricing is based in euros with an educational discount because I live in Ireland and I'm a teacher. And no, my school will not supply me with a laptop, I need to buy it myself!

Option 1: 14" ibook superdrive + BT + 60G HD, Airport Express base station, tucano second skin, 1Gig crucial RAM. This will cost approx. €1780 and should easily meet all my computing needs for 3 to 5 years.

Option 2: 12" ibook combo, +BT + 60Gig HD, AE base station, tucano second skin, 1 Gig crucial RAM and a samsung dual layer USB dvd +/-RW external drive (or similar). This will cost approx €1500 and should also meet my needs for the next 3 to 5 years.