Which keyboard setting do you prefer?

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by M@lew, Mar 10, 2007.

?

Which keyboard setting do you use?

  1. I use the Default Hardware Control setting

    32 vote(s)
    88.9%
  2. I use the Software Control Option

    4 vote(s)
    11.1%
  1. M@lew macrumors 68000

    M@lew

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2006
    Location:
    Melbourne, Australia
    #1
    Under keyboard settings, there's an option to use the F1-F12 keys to control software features instead of brightness, volume etc. Those would be used in conjunction with the "fn" key.

    My questions is, how many of you use the default option, which is F1-F12 control hardware be default and "fn" controls software, and how many check the software control option?
     
  2. WildCowboy Administrator/Editor

    WildCowboy

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2005
    #2
    I use the hardware setting. I adjust screen brightness and volume using the keys quite often. The only software functions I use on a regular basis are F11 and F12, and those work fine in hardware mode.
     
  3. EricNau Moderator emeritus

    EricNau

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2005
    Location:
    San Francisco, CA
    #3
    I too, use hardware mode. ...I use the hardware keys all the time, and have never needed to press the fn key.
     
  4. Benjamindaines macrumors 68030

    Benjamindaines

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2005
    Location:
    A religiously oppressed state
    #4
    I use software control mode so I can activate exposé with out having to use the fn key.
     
  5. EricNau Moderator emeritus

    EricNau

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2005
    Location:
    San Francisco, CA
    #5
    You do not have to do this in hardware mode either.
     
  6. Benjamindaines macrumors 68030

    Benjamindaines

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2005
    Location:
    A religiously oppressed state
    #6
    On a MacBook Pro you do, the F9 and F10 keys are occupied by keyboard brightness adjustment keys.
     
  7. Cult Follower macrumors 6502a

    Cult Follower

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2007
    Location:
    North Dakota
  8. EricNau Moderator emeritus

    EricNau

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2005
    Location:
    San Francisco, CA
    #8
    Oh, how weird, my MacBook is different then.

    Sorry. :eek:
     
  9. arcobb macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2005
    Location:
    Colorado
    #9
    On my MacBook changed the default so the keys act as F software keys with out pressing fn. Man reason is when I run windows I have some specialized software that makes heavy use of these keys. Otherwise I would have left the default option of using them as hardware keys.
     
  10. MRU macrumors demi-god

    MRU

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2005
    Location:
    Ireland
    #10
    default on 3 laptops

    custom on one other as it shares shortcuts with pro-tools le
     

Share This Page