Which laptop for light Aperture use

Discussion in 'Buying Tips and Advice' started by Nikonshooter, May 11, 2006.

  1. Nikonshooter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 5, 2006
    #1
    Hi all,
    I have at home a DP 2,7 G5 which runs Aperture very smooth.

    But for my mobile work i would buy me a laptop with only one requirement:
    It has to be able to RUN aperture, not fluently but is has to run.

    Do you guys think that it would be worth the wait of the new Macbook or would te Macbook pro be the only alternative ?

    I won't use the laptop that often and therefore want the bare minimum just to run the program ??

    Any advise is welcome
     
  2. iGary Guest

    iGary

    Joined:
    May 26, 2004
    Location:
    Randy's House
    #2
    I have a 1.67 G4 PB that runs it very nicely - which was a bonus for me, because that is not why I got the laptop. :)

    The deal with the MacBook is going to be the graphics, which will most likely be a deal breaker for Aperture, even if you use the work around software.
     
  3. truz macrumors 6502a

    truz

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2006
    Location:
    Florida
    #3
    You can always wait and see what type of specs the macbook has (ibook). If they seem a bit low over the macbook pro, then I would consider getting the macbook pro. You can find brand new macbook pro's on ebay cheaper then apple.com and amazon.com (including apple's student discounts). You can also look on craigslist.org. I found a brand new macbook pro 1.83ghz for $1600 (still sealed in box) and about 30 minutes away from my house.
     
  4. GoCubsGo macrumors Nehalem

    GoCubsGo

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2005
    #4
    I agree about craigslist.org but not with ebay. Unless I can pick the item up and pay for it right there, I'm not buying a laptop off ebay. :)

    However, according to Apple, my PB 1.67 the second to last rev (with the 2700 ddr) will run it, but I would increase the ram to 2 gigs.
     
  5. Nikonshooter thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 5, 2006
    #5
    The problem is that i live in Europe ( Belgium ).
    Vat is 21% and there are no refurbished Apple computers over here.

    Any suggestions ?
     
  6. Leesure macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 5, 2006
    #6
    FWIW, I have a 1.25 12" PBG4 w/ and I use Adobe Lightroom and it runs very well sorting and 'developing' Nikon RAW files.

    Not sure how much more intensive the reqs are for Aperture, but if it's similar, then any 'new' PB with lots o memory should work for you.
     
  7. poolin1243 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2005
    Location:
    Kansas City,MO/Milwaukee, WI
    #7
    15" 1.5 PB works well...im a pro photog too, so i understand what you want. if you stick 1.5 gigs of ram in it...aperture will really work well...as well as DPP, remote capture, CS2, and photomechanic...plus, a solid machine.
     

Share This Page