Which mac for me?

Discussion in 'Buying Tips, Advice and Discussion (archive)' started by thehuggernaut, Oct 31, 2004.

1. thehuggernaut macrumors newbie

Hello all,

i'm a junior film student at penn state university. as a film student i need video editing software and mostly we use final cut. thusly, it's time i get a mac. the problem is my cashflow isn't too good. i'd really like to spend <1500 if at all possible. i get an educational discount through the apple store so that may help a little.

my question becomes: which mac for me? i'm running a pc laptop right now, it'd be nice to get a laptop mac but if the price is better/the features are better for a desktop i could do that as well. the new imacs seem quite nice and with the recent ibook update that's also an option as far as price. would the ibook be enough computer for me?

if you guys could help me i'd greatly appreciate it. thanks in advance

adam

2. Solafaa macrumors 6502a

Solafaa

Dont get an iBook. I dont think it will be good for what you will be doing. I think the cheapest thing you can get is the 12" PB, the PB os better at editing and doing hard work then the iBook. Spending the extra money on a laptop is always a great plus.

The G5 iMac with superdrive is very good but like i said if your going to be in collage then i think a laptop would be better. If your not going to sell your PC laptop you have then get the G5 iMac.

3. thehuggernaut thread starter macrumors newbie

you don't think the new 14" ibook compares to the 12"powerbook? also how bad is editing video going to be on a 12 inch screen? just curious, if you don't think bad i'm all for it. i'm just ready to make the jump to apple, i'm so tired of pc problems.

4. Solafaa macrumors 6502a

Solafaa

5. Solafaa macrumors 6502a

Solafaa

I used to have a 14" G4 iBook, it was very good but i think for heavy editing the PB would be doing a better job.

6. debroglie macrumors 6502a

debroglie