Which MacBook Pro model should I purchase?

Discussion in 'Buying Tips and Advice' started by Just1nCase, Dec 2, 2006.

1. Just1nCase macrumors member

Hello,

I am currently a Graphic Design student at San Diego State. I need help deciding which MacBook Pro model I should purchase. Since I am a college student with a tight budget, I am debating whether I should get the 15-inch: 2.16Ghz or 15-inch: 2.33GHz model. So far, I am leaning towards the 15-inch:2.16Ghz because it fits my budget enough to purchase before the upcoming semester. However, it includes a slight low-end CPU and Video Card compare to the rest of the models and 1GB memory.

Does the .17 GHz difference of the processor between the two models make a significant difference? I am planning to upgrade the 1GB memory into 2GB memory later on because I heard it's much affordable to purchase separately. Is that true? Please let me know, I am very interested in purchasing an Apple laptop.

By the way, I am also able to use the education discount.

2. siurpeeman macrumors 603

siurpeeman

fellow san diegan! i'm a bit west of you at uc san diego. here's something for you to consider. the bookstore at my school is selling core duo (not core 2 duo) macbook pros for insanely cheap. you can get the 2.16 ghz model with 1 gb ram and the 256 mb x1600 graphics card for $1499. i'd imagine your school would have similar pricing, and i think it would be worth considering if it would give you peace of mind purchasing a macbook with the top-end graphics card. it's cheaper than a base core 2 duo macbook pro, too. :D

3. Fearless Leader macrumors 68020

It is close to humanly impossible to notice the .17 ghz the extra memory won't affect you unless you're playing some serious first person shooters on your mbp, DIY memory upgrade is much cheaper than apples. Also look at refurbs.

4. FFTT macrumors 68030

FFTT

I'm getting ready to purchase a MacBook for my daughter, so I'm looking at the RAM situation closely.