Which MBP? 17" -vs- 15"

Discussion in 'Buying Tips and Advice' started by Dubba, Oct 10, 2006.

1. Dubba macrumors regular

Although I am a newbie, please allow me to point out that I have read (and re-read) the appropriate threads on this forum – in fact, I have even posted in some.

However, I now turn to you for your advice on my specific situation.

Since November 2004 I have been using a 12" PB G4. In that time, it has been in to Apple (UK) for repair twice for logic board replacement. Last week the optical drive stopped working, and after a long phone call with AppleCare and Customer Service, they are sending me the entry-level 15" MBP as a replacement as soon as they receive my 12” PB which was collected yesterday.

My dilemma is this – do I keep the base 15” model or do I upgrade to the 17” (I have a ready buyer for the 15” at slightly below list price)? I have outlined some of the facts, and some of the pros/cons (in order of importance to me). The advice from the experts (i.e. you guys) would be much appreciated.

Facts
    Needs/Uses: Mainly for E-mail (Entourage – I am a traitor, I know, sorry!), Excel, Word, Safari, iPhoto, iTunes, watching DVDs, and iDVD (a little).

Portability: As I no longer travel regularly or extensively, extreme portability (ala 12” PB) is not a requirement. However, I would like some portability as I only want a single machine and am happy to carry it between home and work. I either walk or drive the short distance, and am unlikely to be carrying much else, so the weight is not an issue. Being mobile around the house is somewhat of importance, moving between the table, sofa, and bed.

External Screen: Not an option at home due to space, and not something I am keen on for the office due to cost (and a likelihood that I may be working from home again in a few months).