which slots for powermac G5 ram?

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by MrVegas, Nov 26, 2005.

  1. MrVegas macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2005
    Location:
    Columbia, Md.
    #1
    I purchased a 2 gig ram upgrade for my dual 2.0 powermac. There are two pair of memory slots. Which slots should the new memory go in, the "inside" slots or the "outside slots" ???
     
  2. CanadaRAM macrumors G5

    CanadaRAM

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2004
    Location:
    On the Left Coast - Victoria BC Canada
    #2
    The empty ones....

    It doesn't matter, as long as the RAM is installed in the paired sockets, which should be the two remaining empty, as the existing memory should be in the first pair. Check your owner's manual.
     
  3. FFTT macrumors 68030

    FFTT

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2004
    Location:
    A Stoned Throw From Ground Zero
    #3
    Open your powermac after shutting down.
    Be sure to follow anti static-procedures.
    Remove the clear plastic shield, then remove the grey dual fan housing which
    simply slides out.

    You will see two rows of 4 upper and 4 lower RAM slots

    You'll notice that your factory RAM DIMMs have one stick in the upper
    section and the other in the lower section.

    The same thing applies to your new pair of RAM DIMMs one goes
    in the upper section the other in the lower.

    Take note of where the notch is located on your new RAM and line it up
    to the same notch in each section. It only goes in one way.

    Note:

    Apple RAM slots are very close tollerance so it takes considerable
    pressure to completely seat the RAM DIMMs.

    Use firm and even pressure being careful that you have them lined up correctly.

    You want to be sure that the RAM keepers snap into place.

    Replace the fan assembly and the clear shield and the outer casing and you should be good to go.

    Once you boot back up, verify the new RAM is showing in your system profiler. THAT'S IT!
     
  4. CanadaRAM macrumors G5

    CanadaRAM

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2004
    Location:
    On the Left Coast - Victoria BC Canada
    #4
    Ahh sorry, I had assumed the OP's machine was a 4 socket machine and there were only 2 available sockets.

    Quite right, on 8-socket machines observe the pair relationship of the sockets in the 2 banks.
     
  5. FFTT macrumors 68030

    FFTT

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2004
    Location:
    A Stoned Throw From Ground Zero
    #5
    Canada RAM may be correct here depending on whether you have
    a REV B (8 DIMM) 2.0 dual , or a REV C 4 DIMM 2.0 dual.

    In either case one stick goes to the upper section, the other goes down in your available slots.

    I generally leave the factory DIMMS in the primary slots and install any additional RAM in the next available slots.
     

Share This Page