Which Version of Backplane 2009 board 1 or 2?

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by Svoy, Feb 7, 2013.

  1. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2011
    #1
    Hi Guys,

    Would you please help me out what version of Backplane board do I need, I have a Mac Pro 2009 double processor board assembly with numbers on a board 820-2336-A and numbers on a sticker/ barcode label ( *J5942024L1LUE* 630-9402 CHINA) Can anybody help me find out which version (Ver. 1 661-4996 or Ver. 2 661-5444 )of Mac pro 2009 Backplane board is compatible with my Processor board.
    Thank in advance.
    [​IMG]
     
  2. thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2011
    #2
    Common guys...
    Any information the owners of Mac pro 2009 would be helpful, if someone could match the numbers of boards...
     
  3. macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2009
    #3
    3 hours really is an inappropriately short period of time to bump a thread. You're seeking free help. Be patient.
     
  4. thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2011
    #4
    Thanks, I will...
     
  5. macrumors 6502a

    PowerPCMacMan

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2012
    Location:
    PowerPC land
    #5
    Processor boards

    Any 2009 Processor board will work with any 2009 Backplane board.. Even a 2010 will work, but bear this in mind... In order to get westmere support you would need to change out not only the 2009 processor board, but also the 2009 backplane board which costs lots of money and is not worth it..

    Instead, there is a better way and I am sure you already know what it is. Look for the 2009 Mac Pro --> 2010 Mac Pro firmware updater. With this firmware updater it will change your 09 Mac Pro to a 10 and will allow you to use your existing boards, and the best part: You can then upgrade them to westmere processors..

    Its easy and many have done it. I have and I am enjoying 6-core goodness.

    AFAIK, board versions don't make a difference. a 2009 Mac Pro board is the same, regardless.


     
  6. thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2011
    #6
    Thank you for response PowerPCMacMan,
    The reason I've started this thread is because I've got a processor board from my friend after he moved out and now I decided to assemble whole Mac Pro from a scratch, I have everything but Backplane board…The last Backplane board 661-5444 I bought on Ebay did not work as suppose to. It powered on , and fans worked but no sound chime and no video.
    And everything get back to normal after I switched back to my 2010 backplane board model (except the fans are spinning at full speed because of the differences between the models ). So, I decided to send it back due to defect of the board. Now I am thinking, was it a really defect or it was just a wrong Version ?
    So, From what you said, can I just order ANY new version of backplane board 2009 and it should work? Right?
     
  7. macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2012
    #7
    Well, the easiest way to get an answer is asking a reseller who actually carries both versions of the board, such as DV Warehouse. You can either call or send them an email to have your question answered.
     
  8. thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2011
    #8
    Hi xcodeSyn,
    Thank you for reply...I spoke yesterday with Jason from DVwarehouse, before opening this thread, and he wasn't sure which backplane version exactly should I buy....

    so, in order to get the right backplane version I need either # of backplane matched with my Processor board serial number or machine serial number which I do not have...
    It would be more easier if the owners of Mac pro 2009 matched theirs serials this mine.
     
  9. xcodeSyn, Feb 8, 2013
    Last edited: Feb 8, 2013

    macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2012
    #9
    Not according to this link explaining what EEE code means:
    Your processor board EEE code is the first 3 of the last 4 letters, i.e. 1LU. The 661-4996 lists 1LT as part of its EEE code, and that's a match according to the cited link. Besides the version 2 661-5444 apparently did not work and has no matching EEE code listed under it. Can't believe Google is more useful than a real person.
     
  10. thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2011
    #10
    Thanks...I really appreciate for your help...
    Now I have at least a clue, and I just noticed , in version 1 board EEE code (first 3 of the last 4 letters) begins from digits and version 2 from letters...I hope I wont miss this time...
     
  11. thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2011
    #11
    Hello everybody,


    I would like to update this thread...I've got and installed a new Apple backplane board Version 1 today and every time I start mac pro it reaches the desktop with kernel panic (Card in Slot2 )...and I do not see an Apple Boot logo on start just a black screen (Video card in Slot 1)....
    I run Apple service diagnostic and it failed... ERROR-60 VIDEO CONTROLLER....
    Can anybody knows what is it? Could it be just a Video card (Apple Radeon 5770) issue or it causes because of Backplane board failure?
    Thanks in advance
     
  12. macrumors 604

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2008
    Location:
    Hollywood, CA
    #12
    Which 5770 is it?

    Where did it come from?

    Do you know that it worked in a Mac Pro before?

    Some info will help
     
  13. thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2011
    #13
    Thank you MacVidCards for reply...
    I bought it on Ebay...it is Apple radeon 5770 video card...I tested it before on my Mac Pro 2009 with backplane board from 2010 , and everything was ok, except the fans are spinning at full speed...
    Is there a video controller on a board by itself or it is on a Video card?
     
  14. macrumors 604

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2008
    Location:
    Hollywood, CA
    #14
    Does it have 2 small MDP ports and a single DVI port.

    Do you have power connected?
     
  15. Svoy, Feb 26, 2013
    Last edited: Feb 26, 2013

    thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2011
    #15
    Yes, One DVI, and 2 MDP, it is power connected ...
    The thing is that it works in system...

    PS. I just reset NVRAM/PRAM and partially problem solved, now mac pro reaches the desktop without kernel panic but still fails Video controller test
     
  16. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2014
    #16
    fork!

    Hi, this seems to be the only place on the web about this specific issue. I am trying to figure it out with reference to a single-proc early 2009.

    Let me summarize the knowledge above.

    Apple uses system of EEE codes to identify parts compatibility. the EEE code is embedded in the part SN. the mac pro 4,1 early 2009 came with version 1 and version 2 backplane boards, which have differing sets of EEE codes.

    the theory is you match the processor tray EEE code to the backplane EEE code to know if a unit is interoperable. however, by match, they do not mean the codes are the same, they mean they crossreference successfully. vendors publish the EEE codes of the various parts but no one seems to have published a crossreference guide.

    mobo v 1 p/n, EEE codes: 661-4996 - 1LT, 7A1
    mobo v 2 p/n, EEE codes: 661-5444 - CV7, DD4G

    single proc model proc tray 3.66mhz P/N, EEE code: 661-4999 - 4MF, BY0, DCVJ

    Earlier in this thread, a dual-proc tray with SN J5942024L1LUE was referenced as having EEE code 1LU. That poster noted,
    I added the link in the quote for clarity.

    I have examined the cited link, and can find no source to correlate the EEE codes 1LT to 1LU.

    The cited link includes this:

    Is the in-thread poster who notes 1LT and 1LU as a match interpreting the phrase "you only need to match one of them" to indicate a single-letter position match in the EEE code is a match?

    Finally, after gathering the EEE codes for v1 and v2 and for the single-proc boards, I don't think the match is actually a 1-to-1 match, I think it must be a lookup. Is this correct? Apparently there is no comprehensive lookup resource online. Is that correct?

    Thanks in advance for your clarifications.
     
  17. macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2012
    #17
    This reply is 6-month too late and the MP in question must have been either fixed or scrapped. Normally I'm not in the habit of raising a dead thread like this, but I like to address his question just in case other people may stumble into this place in the future.

    To answer the quoted question: The original poster of this thread got hold of a 2009 processor board, but his MP was a 2010 model. Clearly he needed a 2009 backplane board and that's how this whole discussion started. For most people who are going to order a 2009 backplane board, they'd very likely have a used or broken part on hand with an EEE code on it, and that's how to find a match. Since the OP did not have one on hand, that's why he had no choice but to infer the matching code only from what's on the processor board. No one ever stated that 1LT and 1LU was a perfect match because they were clearly not for the same part, but more like a close enough match, as 1LU on the processor board is rather close to 1LT on a backplane board. Besides he already tried a version 2 that didn't work.

    Now back to sleep.
     
  18. thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2011
    #18
    Hi everybody,
    I keep an eye on this thread from time to time...What I would like to say is that it got fixed by itself, after I bought the backplane board that is matched to my processor board.
     
  19. xcodeSyn, Mar 15, 2015
    Last edited: Mar 15, 2015

    macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2012
    #19
    Back then I wondered if a 2009 backplane and 2009 processor board could fit in a 2010 model without issues. Your post indicates that the 2009 and 2010/12 have a lot in common. Thanks for clarification.
     
  20. thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2011
    #20
    Hi,
    Unfortunately, NOT.... I know for sure, that even though they have a lot in common, eventually you will get a "constant Full speed spinning fans" Issue.
    The thing is, and I would emphasize of it, even if Mac pro 4.1 was flashed to Mac Pro 5.1 they have different SMC Version 1.39f5 (Mac Pro 2009) and 1.39f11 (mac Pro 2010), which leads to the problems...
     
  21. macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2012
    #21
    That was a given fact people pointed out as soon the firmware upgrade utility became available in 2011. I was referring to replacing the 2010 MP model with both 2009 backplane and processor board as you did. Given that a MP4,1/5,1 is about 90% of these two boards plus other peripherals, it may not be a surprise.
     

Share This Page