Whitespace in FireFox. So annoying...

Discussion in 'Web Design and Development' started by _bnkr612, Oct 2, 2006.

  1. _bnkr612 macrumors 6502a

    _bnkr612

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2004
    #1
    Hey everyone,

    I can't seem to figure out why there is whitespace on some of these pages. I have rebuilt them, and I am still having an issue.

    still in beta

    Any suggestions or fixes would be much appreciated!

    Cheers.
    Joseph
     
  2. Mitthrawnuruodo Moderator emeritus

    Mitthrawnuruodo

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2004
    Location:
    Bergen, Norway
    #2
    Picture 2.jpg

    Whitespace...? :confused:

    Edit: Ah, I see what you mean. You need to remove the   you get behind full stops.

    PHP:
    lifestyle.  Each trailer

    boat trailer
    .  For long term salt
    Is it a setting in DreamWeaver (or whatever you are using) or are you "double-spacing" yourself when typing...?
     
  3. _bnkr612 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    _bnkr612

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2004
    #3
    Cheers, but that still didn't help. It's also making the copy jump all around.

    It's so frustrating trying to figure this out, this has never happened to me before.

    Isn't there some sort of block I can use to remedy this problem?

    Cheers.
     
  4. Mitthrawnuruodo Moderator emeritus

    Mitthrawnuruodo

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2004
    Location:
    Bergen, Norway
    #4
    What do you mean by it didn't help? If you delete the   then it should remove the double-spaces... if that's even what you are talking about...

    Of course the text will break differently when you remove/add characters...

    Well, unless you tell how you are making the web page in the first place it is very difficult to try and find a fix...

    Are you using a program like DreamWeaver? Are the   generated automatically whenever a full stop is used? Or are you double-spacing when typing in the text? Or are you just pasting the text from somewhere, and is that text double-spaced after a full stop?

    You need to give some information to get some (potential) help... ;)
     
  5. Voidness macrumors 6502a

    Voidness

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2005
    Location:
    Null
    #5
    He might be referring to this: (I'm using Firefox 2 RC1 on Windows right now :( )
     

    Attached Files:

  6. Mitthrawnuruodo Moderator emeritus

    Mitthrawnuruodo

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2004
    Location:
    Bergen, Norway
    #6
    Ok... that wasn't showing up in Firefox 2 RC1 on my Mac (as you can see from the screen shot above). But it does now, so I guess that is the OP working on the page right now... :)

    And the OP still didn't say that this was the problem, or has given any useful information... ;)
     
  7. bousozoku Moderator emeritus

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2002
    Location:
    Gone but not forgotten.
    #7
    My experience has been like yours. I'm still not sure what the problem actually is. Perhaps, if someone would have given a screen shot with the problem labeled, we'd know.

    Even the nightly shows the gray strip now.
     
  8. Mitthrawnuruodo Moderator emeritus

    Mitthrawnuruodo

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2004
    Location:
    Bergen, Norway
    #8
    The grey strip seems to be associated with the height of the table of the main area, and that FF doesn't quite follow all the valign="top" that's used... but if I change:

    <table width="601" height="328" border="0" align="left" cellpadding="0" cellspacing="0">

    to

    <table width="601px" height="391px" border="0" align="left" cellpadding="0" cellspacing="0">

    it seems to "fill out" the whole cell and the grey strip vanishes...
     
  9. bousozoku Moderator emeritus

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2002
    Location:
    Gone but not forgotten.
    #9
    That's great but it probably doesn't address the concern that the original poster had, whatever that was.
     
  10. Mitthrawnuruodo Moderator emeritus

    Mitthrawnuruodo

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2004
    Location:
    Bergen, Norway
    #10
    Probably not... but, on the other hand, it seems the double-spacing is gone, if that indeed was the original problem... so I just tried to address the next apparent problem and figure out how to get rid of the grey bar... :)

    Anyway, now I remember why I stopped using tables for page design... as annoying as div tags may be they are still much, much easier to deal with than tables...
     
  11. _bnkr612 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    _bnkr612

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2004
    #11
    Cheers for the suggestions. I'll look into it when I have a minute.

    Joseph
     

Share This Page