who has ipaq? need some tips and suggestions

Discussion in 'Macintosh Computers' started by howard, Aug 25, 2004.

  1. macrumors 68020

    howard

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2002
    #1
    i just got an ipaq as a gift along with mark spaces sync software. I'm trying to find places to check out freeware apps however most of the apps you have to run exe first, at markspace.com they say you can install .cab files. so my main question is where can i find those?

    also any suggestions for interesting features you've found on your ipaq would be helpful too. btw its a model 2215.

    thanks
     
  2. macrumors 6502

    micvog

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2003
    #2
    I actually had a 2215 which I sold before switching to Mac. They are great PPCs which is probably why they are being sold over a year after they were released. IIRC, some sites you might want to visit:

    www.brighthand.com
    www.pocketpc.com
    www.pocketpcthoughts.com
    www.pocketpcpassion.com
    www.pdabuzz.com
    www.handango.com

    I also seem to recall there was a Mac program to extract the .cab files from the Windows .exe files. I will see if I can find it.

    Good luck.

    Michael
     
  3. thread starter macrumors 68020

    howard

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2002
    #3

    thanks a tone, and a program like that is exactly what i need
     
  4. thread starter macrumors 68020

    howard

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2002
    #4
    i think there is one on pocketmac.net but its bundled with its sync software, i have markspace sync software and don't want to spend another $40. If there is a different application or a site that just gave the cabs that would be helpful.

    thanks
     
  5. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2003
    Location:
    Raleigh, NC
    #5
    It doesn't work because it DOES extract a .cab, but the PocketPC .cab is inside that and it fails to look for it. Trust me I know this.
     
  6. thread starter macrumors 68020

    howard

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2002
    #6
    well i successfully installed one exe program by installing it first on a pc then bringing those files over and putting them on the ipaq. i also figured out that some, only some, programs will run if you just put them in windows/start menu/programs and then run them in the programs area.
     

Share This Page