Who is connected to my Airport Extreme?

Discussion in 'Mac Accessories' started by EricBrian, Jul 14, 2007.

  1. macrumors 6502a

    EricBrian

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2005
    #1
    Is there a way to see how many computers are connected to my Airport Extreme and what their IP is?

    I want to do this so that I can set up my PC as an Apache2 server and then connect to it with my MBP.

    Thanks for all and any info. :)

    Eric
     
  2. Moderator emeritus

    Mitthrawnuruodo

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2004
    Location:
    Bergen, Norway
    #2
    Open AirPort Utility. Double-click your Extreme base (or click and hit cmd-L) to enter Manual Setup. Under AirPort -> Summary you can then see the number of Wireless Clients. And if you click on the "Wireless Clients" text label, you can see more details, including the client's MAC addresses:

    Picture-1.jpg
     
  3. thread starter macrumors 6502a

    EricBrian

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2005
    #3
    Thank you for the info. I was able to find it.... although, it took me a sec to find out that I was able to click on the label.

    So, I found the MAC address, but that doesn't help me since I need an IP address to enter into the browser.

    You wouldn't happen to know how to do that, or? :)
     
  4. macrumors P6

    Peace

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2005
    Location:
    Space--The ONLY Frontier
    #4
    Click on the DHCP tab next to the Wireless clients tab.It shows the MAC address and the IP.
     
  5. thread starter macrumors 6502a

    EricBrian

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2005
    #5
    I tried that.... but it was grayed-out.
     
  6. macrumors P6

    Peace

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2005
    Location:
    Space--The ONLY Frontier
  7. thread starter macrumors 6502a

    EricBrian

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2005
    #7
    Hmmm... I think I am.

    Under Internet -> Internet Connection, I have:

    Configure IPv4: Using DHCP.
     
  8. macrumors P6

    Peace

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2005
    Location:
    Space--The ONLY Frontier
    #8
    Ok.Which Airport Extreme Base Station do you have?

    Is it the new one.The .n ?

    Next to the Internet Connection tab is a tab called DHCP.Look at that one and let me know what ts says.
     
  9. macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    May 1, 2005
    #9
    Just found this thread when looking to find out who clients are myself, didn't notice "Wireless Clients" was click-able either, that's bad interface design from Apple!

    Anyway, the DHCP tab will be greyed out or useless (empty) if you are using your airport base-station in bridge mode, most likely if your airport express is connected to an ethernet router for example. This is what my set-up is basically.

    But that doesn't help in finding out IP address and/or machine-name. Is there another way this information could be obtained? As I have some "clients" showing up on my airport express that aren't showing up in my router (i.e they're connected to the base-station but haven't been given an IP by my router). I suspect it's simply another wireless computer connecting to the wrong base-station (I have two for better signal strength on different floors of my house) and my XBox 360 which is plugged into the ethernet port (but switched off), but it'd be nice to check remotely rather than having to copy each machine's MAC address!
     
  10. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2009
    #10
    Did you ever get this figured out? I'm having the same problem.
     
  11. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2011
    #11
    bridge mode

    FYI, in bridge mode the IP addresses are handed out by the upstream router, so that would be the place to go for them. Right now I'm using Clear for my ISP. They use (right now) a Motorola WiMax CPE router, which has a web interface. The Airport Extreme will give you the address of its upstream router in the Internet/TCP page. I pointed my browser to that address and got the WiMax CPE's login page asking for a password. A quick google for the default password for this kind of router and I was in. Being careful not to change anything, I was able to navigate to a very helpful page which showed the IP addresses and host names of all the computers in the house which were using the internet through it. You might be able to do this, depending on the router your ISP has given you.
     
  12. macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2009
    #12

Share This Page