Whoa... I beat Chess

Discussion in 'macOS' started by arcobb, May 6, 2005.

  1. arcobb macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2005
    Location:
    Colorado
    #1
    I won a chess game in Tiger! First time ever!... and a second to boot. Seems like the easy to "faster" to “stronger” settings actually mean something now! Before I never ever won a game

    Maybe this is one of those 200 features we keep hearing about!?
     
  2. MoparShaha macrumors 68000

    MoparShaha

    Joined:
    May 15, 2003
    Location:
    San Francisco
    #2
    Wow, that's impressive. I've never heard of anyone beating it. Maybe it's time I take another crack at it.
     
  3. killuminati macrumors 68020

    killuminati

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2004
    #3
    I never knew that there was a chess game.

    i just searched for it in my finder and I found chess application support, chess speakable items, and chess.plist but I couldnt find the actual app?
     
  4. Balin64 macrumors 6502a

    Balin64

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2002
    Location:
    In a Mauve Dream
    #4
    I want a screenshot!

    Seriously:

    Congratulations.

    I've had Chess in check many times but I have never beat it. :eek:

    Maybe I should take another crack at it!

    Does anyone else prefer the Jaguar version of Chess? The Panther version was too showy in my opinion...
     
  5. Balin64 macrumors 6502a

    Balin64

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2002
    Location:
    In a Mauve Dream
    #5

    hi:

    it's in your applications folder. Simple as that!
     
  6. Lacero macrumors 604

    Lacero

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2005
    #6
    I wonder how Kasparov would do against Tiger Chess on the hardest settings.
     
  7. mad jew Moderator emeritus

    mad jew

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2004
    Location:
    Adelaide, Australia
    #7
    :eek: I didn't realise the game was so notoriously hard. I just thought I really sucked at chess. :D

    Congratulations!
     
  8. Doctor Q Administrator

    Doctor Q

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2002
    Location:
    Los Angeles
    #8
    He'd blow chess.app out of the water. The Mac would be asking for mercy before you know it. It still takes a specialized computer system, programmed by people who have studied chess-playing computers in research labs and analyzed past games, and with years spent optimizing, to beat the best human chess players in any consistent way. Computers get faster faster than humans get faster, so someday the computer in your wristwatch will be able to beat any human at chess, but as of today chess.app ain't there yet.
     
  9. ksz macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2003
    Location:
    San Jose, CA
    #9
    As I recall, Kasparov finally lost to Deep Thought or one of its successors. It was not an easy victory for the machine; Kasparov, I think, succumbed to fatigue during the long matches. If he were younger he may have beaten it soundly. However, Kasparov acknowledged that the best computer programs will begin to defeat the best human players consistently within 5 years, turning chess into a "solved problem." Will that reduce chess to a mere mathematical algorithm, a solvable problem, and rob the fun out of the game? Once we figuresd out that tic tac toe can always end in draw or Rubik's cube can always be solved in a programmatic way, we lost interest in those games. Kasparov has publicly wondered whether that might happen to his beloved game as well.
     
  10. Josias macrumors 68000

    Josias

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2006
    #10
    Sorry to brag and revive an old thread, but unless you guys hadn't upgraded to Tiger at the time, and Panthers chess was smarter, I think I'm very good at Chess. I just beat it on hardest in 7 minutes. Wiped out his every piece on the board, except the king. How come?
     
  11. beatsme macrumors 65816

    beatsme

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2005
    #11
    congratulations :D

    I'm a fairly competent chess player (or so I think :rolleyes: ), and I reliably get my @ss thoroughly kicked.
     
  12. OwlsAndApples macrumors 6502a

    OwlsAndApples

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2006
    Location:
    UK
    #12
    Yeah ditto...it always seems to find some way of wriggling from check :mad: grrr...
     
  13. SC68Cal macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2006
    #13
    This is why I play games like Quake 4 and Defcon......

    Chess made me cry.
     
  14. XnavxeMiyyep macrumors 65816

    XnavxeMiyyep

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2003
    Location:
    Washington
    #14
    To my knowledge, Chess in Tiger, at least at the lowest difficulty, is not as difficult as Chess in Panther or Jaguar. They probably realized it was slaughtering all the average Chess players (like me) and decided to give us a break.
     
  15. lazyboy922 macrumors 6502

    lazyboy922

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2003
    Location:
    Las Vegas, NV
  16. sysiphus macrumors 6502a

    sysiphus

    Joined:
    May 7, 2006
    #16
    Congrats...always fun to win. But as previously stated, it was a better challenge in pervious versions of X. I almost wish I could run an older version on my MBP so I could have a challenge again...
     
  17. mcshyd macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2006
    #17
    I Just beat mac chess on OSX 10.4.8 on the strongest setting, and i'm a little disappointed. I realized that if i open with the kings pawn and go into an early queen gambit, the computer takes it, every time. This leaves me with early control of the center, along with better positioning of my knights. I started at the easiest setting, and kept going up in increments. I figured I would continue to play at the level that beat me first. except, it never did. BOO. I didn't pay 2500 dollars for a computer thats more of an idiot than I am.
     
  18. yellow Moderator emeritus

    yellow

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2003
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    #18
    I'm assuming this is a joke, since the computer has no bearing on how the application plays chess?
     
  19. mcshyd macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2006
  20. yellow Moderator emeritus

    yellow

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2003
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    #20
    Perhaps you should have purchased a WOPR?
    I hear it's pretty good at games.
     
  21. mcshyd macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2006
    #21
    um, that's a ridiculous reference, and I feel ashamed to have gotten it.
     
  22. yellow Moderator emeritus

    yellow

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2003
    Location:
    Portland, OR
  23. satty macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2004
    Location:
    You can't beat Wellington on a good day
    #23
    Congratulations :)

    What settings did you use?

    I prefer to play with Black and use the "Regular" option. In my opinion this program is useless with those settings. However if the computer is playing Black I definitely struggle.

    Give this one a try on your Mac:
     

    Attached Files:

  24. ChrisA macrumors G4

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2006
    Location:
    Redondo Beach, California
    #24
    I've found that too. In the "easy" mode you can pretty much walk through the game and trounce it.
     
  25. mcshyd macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2006
    #25
    I played white with the regular settings. Perhaps I should try one of the variants...

    Do you know how the variants change the gameplay?

    Satty, you down for a game?
     

Share This Page