Who's connected to my Airport?

Discussion in 'Mac Accessories' started by PeterBonnar, Jul 23, 2005.

  1. PeterBonnar macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 23, 2004
    Location:
    England
    #1
    Is there a way to access my Airport Express and see who is connected to it at any given time... Maybe even see how much bandwidth they are using up?
     
  2. mad jew Moderator emeritus

    mad jew

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2004
    Location:
    Adelaide, Australia
    #2
    I think this is the single biggest detractor for the Apple AirPort range. They're easy to set up, they're reliable, they're fast and they're user-friendly but after a year's usage I still haven't worked out how to see who's on my network. :(
     
  3. mkrishnan Moderator emeritus

    mkrishnan

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2004
    Location:
    Grand Rapids, MI, USA
    #3
    Go to this page:

    http://www.apple.com/support/airport/

    And download the file called Airport Management Tools, on the right, under the heading, "Additional Resources." It will contain two more airport management utilities (now if anyone can give me an answer as to why there need to be five separate airport management utilities in my Utils folder.... :rolleyes: )

    Actually both of these new utilities provide monitoring services; the management utility also allows some multi-airport config stuff in a faster but less user friendly way than the standard Airport utility. They seem pretty neat. You can get visual charts of Signal:Noise and activity level, as well as details on each connection. :)
     
  4. mad jew Moderator emeritus

    mad jew

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2004
    Location:
    Adelaide, Australia
    #4
    Thank you very very much mkrishnan. That's very helpful.

    Now, why doesn't it come as standard in the normal AirPort Admin Utility? :confused:

    Very un-Apple like.
     
  5. mkrishnan Moderator emeritus

    mkrishnan

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2004
    Location:
    Grand Rapids, MI, USA
    #5
    Agreed. I now have:

    - Airport Admin Utility
    - Airport Client Monitor
    - Airport Management Utility
    - Airport Setup Assistant
    - Airport Setup Assistant for Graphite or Snow

    I really don't understand why all of these five applications could not easily be different parts of the same application. Take the last two for instance. How can it possibly be so hard to just start with a "Does your Airport Base Station look like Mr. Left, or Ms. Right?" :rolleyes:

    But anyway, you do have to give them credit... the monitoring tools are much sweeter than anything in web-based administration of a Linksys or Netgear. :D
     
  6. mad jew Moderator emeritus

    mad jew

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2004
    Location:
    Adelaide, Australia
    #6

    It's getting late over here so nope, no credit, I'm far too grumpy for my own good. :p

    Sure they're more comprehensive and for competent Mac people, they're great, but the generic brands still win out on user-friendliness IMO.
     
  7. mkrishnan Moderator emeritus

    mkrishnan

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2004
    Location:
    Grand Rapids, MI, USA
    #7
    Awww, it's okay. I've heard some things are better mad. ;) :eek: :D
     
  8. ravenvii macrumors 604

    ravenvii

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2004
    Location:
    Melenkurion Skyweir
    #8
    They eliminated AirPort Setup Assistant for Graphite or Snow in Tiger, so there's only 4 now :)
     
  9. mkrishnan Moderator emeritus

    mkrishnan

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2004
    Location:
    Grand Rapids, MI, USA
    #9
    Really? I wonder why I have it then.... *goes to delete* It's not like I'm ever going to own one anyway.... :rolleyes:

    *checks for appropriate smiley usage* :D

    EDIT: Sure enough, the date on it is Nov 04.... It must've moved over during archive and install.
     
  10. IJ Reilly macrumors P6

    IJ Reilly

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2002
    Location:
    Palookaville
    #10
    I can't seem to get any use out of either of these utilities on my "snow" (pre-extreme) base station. The AirPort Management Utility says "AirPort 3.4 is required," which I think must be the firmware for the base station. Or not. If so, is an older version of this software available? Then the Client Monitor only seems to work wirelessly and I want to run it on my desktop Mac, which is hooked up to the ethernet side of the router.

    Any suggestions?
     
  11. MacTruck macrumors 65816

    MacTruck

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2005
    Location:
    One Endless Loop
    #11
    Am I missing something here? How do I know if someone is on my network with these utilities?
     
  12. garybUK Guest

    garybUK

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2002
    #12
    I just use SNMP with by extreme base stations. the express also supports this, get a grapher like mrtg and parse the information out. That will show you which client IP's are connected etc.
     
  13. Mitthrawnuruodo Moderator emeritus

    Mitthrawnuruodo

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2004
    Location:
    Bergen, Norway
    #13
    Using Airport Management Utility: Choose the base and press the Monitor tab and all the clients attached will be identified with their wireless cards MAC address (I only got one client attached, my iBook):
     

    Attached Files:

  14. DJY macrumors 6502a

    DJY

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2003
    Location:
    Canberra AUST
    #14
    What about grabbing a couple of widgets to do the job for you?

    SysStat or NetStat might be what you are looking for.
     
  15. mad jew Moderator emeritus

    mad jew

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2004
    Location:
    Adelaide, Australia
    #15

    Cool. :cool:

    How do you get them to show who else is on your network though?
     
  16. DJY macrumors 6502a

    DJY

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2003
    Location:
    Canberra AUST
    #16
    I think Network Interfaces... will list different computers (and their IP addresses)

    So if you see any there that you don't recognise as your own.. then voila! you have them.

    Changing your security passwords is also a good thing!
     
  17. The Past macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2004
    #17
    LOL! Good one. What a relief, just f-o-u-r now!!
     
  18. stevietheb macrumors 6502a

    stevietheb

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2004
    Location:
    Houston
    #18
    THANKS!!! I agree about the annoying number of airport utilities in my folder now...
     
  19. mkrishnan Moderator emeritus

    mkrishnan

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2004
    Location:
    Grand Rapids, MI, USA
    #19
    :D

    Too funny. Glad it helped, though. ;)
     
  20. Mitthrawnuruodo Moderator emeritus

    Mitthrawnuruodo

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2004
    Location:
    Bergen, Norway
    #20
    Don't you collect them, too...? :confused:

    :p
     
  21. Applespider macrumors G4

    Applespider

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2004
    Location:
    looking through rose-tinted spectacles...
    #21
    Not religiously - I've deleted the Airport Graphite/Snow one. I guess the reason for not putting them together is to avoid confusing new users. Perhaps by the time they have enough knowledge to know someone might be using their network is the time they also have enough knowledge to understand the client monitoring? I'd prefer to have it on an advanced tab somewhere in the Admin Utility though

    I think the different set-up methods have something to do with it. When a new user sets up an Apple base, they're walked through the process with adding security to their network an integral part of it. I suspect most people setting up a network with an Airport base end up with some form of security as a default.

    Compare that to the purely web-based Linksys/Belkin etc which I helped a couple of friends set up. Adding security is an afterthought - in the Belkin manual, it was a mere suggestion that you might want to think about it.
     
  22. climbingfool macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2010
    #22

    Is the program still available? I cannot locate on Apple site.

    TF
     
  23. iBookG4user macrumors 604

    iBookG4user

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2006
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    #23
    What are you trying to do with the program?
     

Share This Page