Who's going to use iChat?

Discussion in 'General Mac Discussion' started by mmmdreg, Jul 28, 2002.

  1. mmmdreg macrumors 65816

    mmmdreg

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2002
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    #1
    Seeing as it's only for paying .Mac members and AIM people, who's going to use it? I only have a handful of people on AIM and the rest on msn or ICQ...hopefully, this iChat might make more people AIm members so I can use it...
     
  2. Rower_CPU Moderator emeritus

    Rower_CPU

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2001
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    #2
    Interesting...I hadn't thought about that...

    I'm not much of an IM person anyway...but it might be interesting in our lab setting...
     
  3. dricci macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2001
    #3
    I'll be using it both for my network communication and for AIM. I really like how it'll tell me if people are online right from within mail.app.
     
  4. Beej macrumors 68020

    Beej

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2002
    Location:
    Buffy's bedroom
    #4
    It's only for paying .mac members? really? I must have missed that...
     
  5. cb911 macrumors 601

    cb911

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2002
    Location:
    BrisVegas, Australia
    #5
    you mean we have to pay for iChat?! what a bummer!! damn!!! Apple must have knew that people wouldn't want to pay for .Mac, so then they must have decided to put heaps of cool stuff in with it so we couldn't refuse.
    anyway, it looks like it worked on me. i'll at least be paying for the first year subscription...
     
  6. mmmdreg thread starter macrumors 65816

    mmmdreg

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2002
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    #6
    no..its only for paying .Mac people if they want to use a mac.com email..therwise they can just use AIM
     
  7. atodd macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2002
    Location:
    between yourself
    #7
    You don't have to pay to use iChat.

    You do have to pay if you want to use a mac.com account with it, though.

    You can use any AIM account (free) with it, but the mac.com thing just gets you a special AIM account. So, just get an AIM account and use iChat.
     
  8. AmbitiousLemon Moderator emeritus

    AmbitiousLemon

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2001
    Location:
    down in Fraggle Rock
    #8
    i think there is some confusion here. what mmmdreg meant about ichat was that since we now have to pay to have a .mac email address and since ichat uses .mac email addresses in addition to aolim names ichat is only for paying .mac customers and people who are willing to type a screen name and password to create a aolim name.

    im using ichat right now, and let me say it still sucks. i see only one worthwhile feature, the menubar app (which is separate from ichat). so the only good thing about it involves apple's proprietary menubar APIs. right now even aol's instant messenger is better than ichat. i certainly hope no one uses it. it is obtuse and difficult to use. if you ahve not guess, i am not at all pleased with it. but adium 2.0 should be coming our way soon so no worries.
     
  9. SilvorX macrumors 68000

    SilvorX

    Joined:
    May 24, 2002
    Location:
    'Toba, Canada
    #9
    Re: Who's going to use iChat?

    never knew ppl still used icq ;) lol
    i wont be suprised if some winbloze users are gonna skin aim to make it look like ichat (skin the buttons and im icons) since thats what they already done for msn (but made it look like the mac version....but bad quality)
     
  10. Mr. Anderson Moderator emeritus

    Mr. Anderson

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2001
    Location:
    VA
    #10
    I'm not much of an IM person, I recently signed up for AIM when MacRumors was down a couple time over the past couple of weeks. I don't think I'll be using it when I get Jaguar.

    D
     
  11. JonD macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2002
    #11
    Adium is the Key!!

    If there is EVER a 2.0 release for Adium I'll be all over it... 1.6 rocks either way. iChat, I'm sorry to say, pales in comparison. Slow, not-very-customizable, and it's features are not well implemented even in comparison to AOL's client.

    iChat = Blegh!

    Adium = WooHoo!
     
  12. AlphaTech macrumors 601

    AlphaTech

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2001
    Location:
    Natick, MA
    #12
    Right now, I use Fire to chat with... I like having AIM and Yahoo in one app... I know that Adium probably does the same thing, I just like the way Fire works. I also have ICQ, which I use to keep in touch with a friend from college. I would hope that Apple would update iChat for use with the other major chat engines (like Yahoo and m$n) either before it's released or soon after.

    I might use iChat, but since I use more then just aim, it won't do me much good. That is unless/until Apple makes it work with more chats.
     
  13. AmbitiousLemon Moderator emeritus

    AmbitiousLemon

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2001
    Location:
    down in Fraggle Rock
    #13
    Actually Adium is just AOLIM, so if you need yahoo and icq, then Fire or Proteus are your best bet.
     
  14. AlphaTech macrumors 601

    AlphaTech

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2001
    Location:
    Natick, MA
    #14
    Now that you mention it, I think I saw something about that when I was searching for a good chat organizer.

    I downloaded proteus not long ago, when Fire was redoing some of it's code (due to AIM and then Yahoo changes) but found it a royal pain in the ass to try and configure. Fire is a snap to set up. I like things easy at home, since they can be a pain at work. See the thread that I started about just one part of that.
     
  15. mmmdreg thread starter macrumors 65816

    mmmdreg

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2002
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    #15
    I use proteus... v2fc1 has been released...how much easier is fire to setup? i had no problem with proteus..
     
  16. peterjhill macrumors 65816

    peterjhill

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2002
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    #16
    I am not big into IM. I use it to chat with a few people at work so I don't need to call them or go down to their office. We actually have a command line IM that has been around longer than even AIM called zephyr. That is the main IM client I use.
     
  17. AlphaTech macrumors 601

    AlphaTech

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2001
    Location:
    Natick, MA
    #17
    With Fire, you set up the account with the user name, password and if you want it to log in for you when you launch Fire. You can edit the accounts easily as well. Where things are a snap to find under Fire, I couldn't locate them under proteus.

    Download the latest version of Fire (via versiontracker) and give it a twirl...
     
  18. dnte42 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2002
    #18
    Heh, I 'll use it if it stops those bloody porn ad IM's that I get every other logon... Apart from blocking there wouldn't happen to be anyway to stop those would there?
     

Share This Page