Who's my problem with, T-Mobile or Apple?

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by sosinsurr, Jul 3, 2013.

  1. sosinsurr
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2011
    #1
    Just got a new iphone 5 through T-Mobile and am having a rather weird issue...I can't text some people (no one in particular and very random, maybe every 8 people) and they can't text me cause my number comes up as a landline.

    How can this be? I gave my new number to people and they tried to text me and then sent me messages on facebook and twitter asking if it was a real number cause it comes back as an error saying it's a landline.

    I've called both Apple and T-Mobile and I get the same thing, each saying it's the others problem.

    What are your thoughts?
     
  2. Nermal
    Expand Collapse
    Moderator

    Nermal

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2002
    Location:
    New Zealand
    #2
    Do you have access to another phone that you can put the SIM into?
     
  3. sosinsurr
    Expand Collapse
    thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2011
    #3
    Yes, my fiance also has a T-MO iPhone 5. Same issue occurred. The message goes through on my end, but it never makes it. When they try and text me, they get the error landline.
     
  4. apunkrockmonk
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors 6502a

    apunkrockmonk

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2005
    Location:
    Rochester, NY
    #4
    Sounds like the problem is T-Mobile.

    Easiest way to confirm is turn off the phone and have someone text you that was receiving the error.

    If they still get the error with the phone off and out of the equation you have your answer.
     
  5. sosinsurr
    Expand Collapse
    thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2011
    #5
    Just did and still got the landline error.

    I figured it had nothing to do with Apple, but T-Mo is saying it's not them it's the phone, which to me sounds like complete BS. What does the phone have to do with the number coming up as a land line?
     
  6. apunkrockmonk
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors 6502a

    apunkrockmonk

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2005
    Location:
    Rochester, NY
    #6
    Are the effected people all on the same carrier?

    I know that regular phone calls route using ENUM databases which essentially say how to route the call.

    I'm unsure if SMSes work the same way though.

    If they are all on the same carrier it may be worth having them contact their carrier so they can look into why they're receiving that error.
     
  7. sosinsurr
    Expand Collapse
    thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2011
    #7
    No, not one of them is with T-Mobile so far. And it's only with people in different states so far. None of them have ever been local.
     
  8. apunkrockmonk
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors 6502a

    apunkrockmonk

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2005
    Location:
    Rochester, NY
    #8
    What I was asking is if the people receiving the error all share the same carrier between them.

    For example all of them on Sprint, or some on Sprint and others on Virgin/Boost (Sprint MVNOs)
     
  9. sosinsurr
    Expand Collapse
    thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2011
    #9
    No, some are Verizon, Sprint, ATT, US Celluar to name a few that I asked so far.
     
  10. HiRisk
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2013
  11. sosinsurr
    Expand Collapse
    thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2011
    #11
    Unlimited Nationwide 4G for $70 a month.
     
  12. thelatinist
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors 603

    thelatinist

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2009
    Location:
    Connecticut, USA
    #12
    Did you port your number? If so, was it a landline that you ported?
     
  13. Caesars
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 16, 2013
    #13
    If it was a brand new number, I'd recommend changing :)
     
  14. sosinsurr
    Expand Collapse
    thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2011
    #14
    No I did not port the number.
     
  15. kmichalec
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2010
    #15
    So it's a new number TMob gave you? Then it's definitely their issue. Call and ask to escalate the issue. Don't accept the Tier 1 support answer that it's Apple.
     
  16. Weiser878
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2009
    #16
    Definitely TMobile's problem. Good luck getting them to do anything about it. Most horrible carrier I've ever dealt with
     
  17. rockitdog
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2013
    #17
    Just ask for a new number, that's a pretty simple request
     
  18. Ajones330
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors 6502a

    Ajones330

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2008
    Location:
    SEC Country
    #18
    Try turning imessage off and back on. Changing the number seems to be the best bet though
     

Share This Page