Who's using 32GB Corsair Vengeance successfully in 2012 iMac?

Discussion in 'iMac' started by WilliamG, Dec 15, 2012.

  1. macrumors 603

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2008
    Location:
    Seattle
    #1
    I'm reading issues, but not successes.

    Just curious who has upgraded their 27" 2012 iMacs with 32GB of this RAM without issues (reading 1600mhz in the System properties).

    Cheers, guys!
     
  2. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2010
    Location:
    San Francisco
    #2
    No problem on mine. It's running at 1600mhz.
     
  3. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2012
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    #3
    Ordered 32gb of this ram yesterday.
    But have to wait till january to see if it works.

    Hope I didn't make a wrong choice on this memory.

    Grtz
     
  4. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2009
    #4
    CL 10 or CL11?
     
  5. thread starter macrumors 603

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2008
    Location:
    Seattle
    #5
    At last - a person using it with no issue. Hah! I'd be curious as to memory benchmarks with this CL10 memory vs the Crucial/Apple CL11 memory.
     
  6. macrumors 65816

    randy98mtu

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2009
    #6
    I ordered 32gb as well. I may put a pair in my 17" MBP since I don't really feel that I NEED 32 in the iMac, but 16 might help in the MBP when working in Lightroom.
     
  7. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2006
    #7
    I just ordered 32GB of this model, hope that 1.5V is not the issue.

    Fingers crossed.
     
  8. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2008
    Location:
    SoCal
    #8
    The issue arises from mixing the Corsair Vengeance ram with Apple stock ram. Should have no problem running a pure Corsair setup regardless of memory amount.
     
  9. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2010
    Location:
    San Francisco
    #9
    cl10.
     
  10. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2006
    #10
    Hope this is the case, it will be all Corsair in there.
     
  11. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2008
    Location:
    SoCal
    #11
    It's not a major issue. All that happens is the memory speed downgrades to 1333mhz from 1600mhz. Arguably probably causes less than 3% hit in performance if u were comparing the same amount of memory(16 single source vs 16 mixed sources). It could equally be argued that any hit in memory speed would be outweighed by increase in overall amount of ram (eg going from 16 to 24gb)
     
  12. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2010
    #12
    After searching around for recommendations, I landed on Crucial instead of the Corsair and here's why:

    1. Apparently 1.35V memory comes standard in the iMac from Apple. I have been reading that 1.35V produces less heat and requires less power than the 1.5V. Maybe this is paranoia, but I just can't see the difference in CL worth the voltage increase - See next point.

    2. Comparing the CL10 vs CL11, I have not seen anyone claim a performance benefit.

    3. Technically, the crucial vengeance ram is not a "Mac Recommended" Ram, unlike the Crucial or OWC memory.

    4. Generally any performance benefits don't exist between the two choices, so I opted to choose stability vs. unknown.

    If anyone has any other feedback I welcome it.
     
  13. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2008
    Location:
    SoCal
    #13
    Ok I caved in and deciding to return Corsair ram. Just went ahead and picked up 32GB of Crucial site. :rolleyes:
     
  14. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2010
    #14
    I was going to get this but now going to pass. Anyone use Samsung Ram? I know Apple used to use them in their machines.

    http://m.newegg.com/Product?itemNumber=N82E16820147092

    That's just the 8gb kit. Ill probably pick up the 16gb one.
     
  15. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2011
    #15
  16. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2012
    Location:
    Århus, Denmark
    #16
    Does anybody think these ram would work for my imac:

    4x8b SDRAM DDR3 Corsair ValueSelect
    SoDImm 204 pin
    1600 mhz
    11 CL
    1.5 V
    PC3 12800
    (link [danish]: http://www.pc-lager.dk/vare-oversigt...=506657&type=0)
    I already bought them, just want to know if anyone believe they work or not. I can trade them for something else.
     
  17. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2012
    #17
    I might follow suit, already canceled the Corsair after reading this forum
     
  18. macrumors 6502a

    Jazwire

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2009
    Location:
    127.0.0.1
    #18
    Just got my 2nd 16GB pack today, (after the whole not matching with stock ram fiasco)

    Everything is running great with 32GB of Corsair Vengeance, just don't mix it.
     
  19. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2012
    #19
    I'm using 32gb purchased off amazon without a single issue in my new 27" BTO.
     
  20. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2010
    #20
    So am I.. easy to install as well.
     
  21. macrumors 65816

    randy98mtu

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2009
    #21
    I got the 32 GB today. I have 16 of it in my 17" MBP. Interestingly, despite being listed as a 1333 machine with max ram of 8 GB, it shows 16 GB running at 1600 mhz. I tried both pairs and they both seem to work fine. Interesting that it can't be mixed, but I was thinking about that due to the voltage difference. Guess I'll go 32 in the iMac and back to 8 in my MBP.
     
  22. thread starter macrumors 603

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2008
    Location:
    Seattle
    #22
    Just to update, running 32GB of the Corsair Vengeance in my 27" 2012 iMac with no issues. 1600mhz reported, and everything is running great.
     
  23. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2012
    #23
    I'd stick to Crucial RAM. I don't like using the non stock voltage (1.5V).
     
  24. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2006
    #24
    +1 here as well. Have 32GB installed for 3 days now, no issues at all. Runs at 1600. Ran a memtest as well, all good.
     
  25. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2012
    #25
    You don't know 3 years from now if that extra voltage will cause premature wear.
     

Share This Page