Why, Apple, Why?

Discussion in 'Mac OS X 10.3 (Panther) Discussion' started by gekko513, Apr 27, 2004.

  1. gekko513 macrumors 603

    gekko513

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2003
    #1
    Why can't a Finder window just open automatically if I drag a file from the desktop and lets it hover over the Finder-icon in the dock?? :confused:
     
  2. stoid macrumors 601

    stoid

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2002
    Location:
    So long, and thanks for all the fish!
    #2
    Could you just drag it over the HD icon on the desktop?
     
  3. gekko513 thread starter macrumors 603

    gekko513

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2003
    #3
    I could if I hadn't removed the HD icon from the desktop. I like a clean desktop, you see.
     
  4. stoid macrumors 601

    stoid

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2002
    Location:
    So long, and thanks for all the fish!
    #4
    I was afraid you'd say that :eek:

    Yeah, you can't even put the disk icon in the Dock and do it that way :mad:

    I just make sure that I have at least one Finder window open at all times.
     
  5. baby duck monge macrumors 68000

    baby duck monge

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2003
    Location:
    Memphis, TN
    #5
    i thought you could (since i remembered once having the icon in the dock), but sure enough, it won't let you do anything other than open finder windows through it/get to all your embedded folders. seems like that would be something apple should fix in a new release.
     
  6. stoid macrumors 601

    stoid

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2002
    Location:
    So long, and thanks for all the fish!
    #6
    10.4 "Tiger" features list:

    • Dock operates as it should have since 10.1
     
  7. NusuniAdmin macrumors 6502a

    NusuniAdmin

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2003
    #7
    uhhh

    I just dragged my hd icon to my dock, then right clicked on it and i can access all my files....whats the problem?
     
  8. stoid macrumors 601

    stoid

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2002
    Location:
    So long, and thanks for all the fish!
    #8
    Try dragging a file over the HD icon. The HD won't open so that you can put the file somewhere besides the root directory.
     

Share This Page