Why are Laptops not good for games?

Discussion in 'Games' started by ShaggyLR, Sep 3, 2004.

1. ShaggyLR macrumors member

I'm using a 1ghz 12inch iBook currently and I recently started playing the original Unreal Tournement again. Last time I played this game was on my 400mhz iMac, and frame rates were low 20s/high teens. With my iBook, with 24 more megs of VRAM and a G4 1ghz, the frame rates are only up to high 20s-high 30s. Not much of a jump considering the jump in hard ware I'm working with. Why is it not better? I played agains someone running on a 866mhz G4 with the same amount of VRAM and it just looked much better. Is it the laptop screen that just doens't look as good? Or is it something to do with the specific parts of a laptop that don't work as well?

Back in the day (okay, 4 years ago) I remember a friend running UT on his PC with 500mhz pentium and 16megs of VRAM was getting much better frame rates.

2. jtgotsjets macrumors 6502

jtgotsjets

If i'm not mistaken, you're running UT through classic, which is why you get poor performance. On LAN, I get better performance on UT2K4 than original UT, with the same iBook, because it's not through classic.

3. ShaggyLR thread starter macrumors member

Sorry, yeah I'm running it in classic. Do you know what kind of frame rates your getting UT04? I found it to chunk up at times, however I only have 256megs of RAM, so I figure that could be it. Cause it would run smooth for a bit before chunking up.

4. jtgotsjets macrumors 6502

jtgotsjets

classic + games != goodness.
    unless you're playing stuff like myst, anyway.

i dont know what i was getting in ut2k4, it wasn't bad though. it may have slowed down a tiny bit in high action, but it was hardly noticable. i'm sure it was usually around 30 fps. (its worth noting that i was playing the demo and that anytime i play online as opposed to LAN its megaslow)

5. seamuskrat macrumors 6502a

seamuskrat