Why can't I fit 3GB of movies in one DVD?

Discussion in 'Digital Video' started by pepita, Sep 26, 2005.

1. pepita macrumors member

I'm using iDVD for the first time and there is something I just don't understand - and forgive me if the question is stupid or if there is an obvious explanation to this, but I'm not a pro, I'm new to this and only trying to burn a DVD for fun so, be kind :)

Ok what I don't get is this. I have a collection of .mov files that totals 3.36 GB. I thought, since a DVD is 4.7, I could fit them all in one disk, right? I also imagined that when using iDVD and building menus and such, the software adds some extra files, but I'd have never thought it would need ten times the space the .mov files actually occupy... What's going on?

I only managed to add 3 files that are about 170 MB each, for a total of about 510 MB, and the iDVD status shows the DVD capacity is already 3.6 GB full (and then why 3.6 of 4.0, not 4.7?).

Does iDVD convert the .mov files to make them bigger? Or what kind of files does it add that are not movies and take up sooo much space? I'm confused.

Is my only alternative to burn the files as such via the Finder onto a DVD, and then watch them only through my computer in QuickTime, or is there any way I can actually burn a DVD with menus (only for each movie file, no internal chapters for scenes) that I can watch on any DVD player?

Many thanks in advance to everyone who will have the patience to help me understand how it all works :)

2. neocell macrumors 65816

neocell