Why can't I zoom on the homepage?

Discussion in 'Site and Forum Feedback' started by iigsie, Jan 21, 2013.

  1. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2007
    #1
    It's a moronic decision.
     
  2. simsaladimbamba

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2010
    Location:
    located
    #2
    What do you mean by that? I can use Safari and its zoom function (CMD++ and CMD+- on the homepage just fine. Maybe tell us what browser and version and Mac OS X version you use? But only maybe.
     
  3. thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2007
    #3
    On my ipad I mean
     
  4. simsaladimbamba

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2010
    Location:
    located
    #4
    Which iPad (iPad 1, iPad 2, iPad 3, iPad 4, iPad mini), which iOS version (iOS 4, iOS 5, iOS 6) and which browser (too many to count)?

    Sorry, I guess you mean Safari on iOS 6.0.x, as I can repeat that behaviour there.
     
  5. macrumors 68020

    Comeagain?

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2011
    Location:
    Spokane, WA
    #5
    On the forum homepage? When using the mobile site there isn't really a reason to zoom in. If you do need to zoom in fur some reason, you can switch to the full site by clicking "Desktop (Full) Version" at the bottom. The full site can zoom in.
     
  6. arn
    macrumors god

    arn

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2001
    #6
    You should be able to now.

    Also, iPad is intended to be viewed in "Fixed" (default)

    arn
     
  7. macrumors 604

    ravenvii

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2004
    Location:
    Melenkurion Skyweir
    #7
    THANK YOU! (using the iPhone here)

    I never understood why people disable it for normal iPhone-formatted websites anyway. I get disabling it for webapps, which makes sense, but for iPhone formatted websites? Dumb.
     
  8. thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2007
    #8


    Thank you.


    I presume this was just an oversight, but to have it disabled intentionally is the height of developer arrogance.
     
  9. macrumors 6502

    d4rkc4sm

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2011
    #9
    was the entire homepage in a div?
     
  10. arn
    macrumors god

    arn

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2001
    #10
    not sure what this question is about?

    arn
     
  11. macrumors 68000

    MoparShaha

    Joined:
    May 15, 2003
    Location:
    San Francisco
    #11
    Not sure if this is related or not, but the homepage text is squeezed into a very small column on my iPhone now when viewed in the mobile version. I have to view the homepage in the standard view to be able to read it.
     
  12. macrumors 601

    Mr. Retrofire

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2010
    Location:
    www.emiliana.cl
    #12
  13. arn
    macrumors god

    arn

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2001
    #13
    yes, I know what a span and div is. I don't understand the reason for the question.

    The homepage is made up of many divs. You can look at it yourself. Being in a div doesn't affect the zoomability. So I don't see how the question has anything to do with anything.

    arn
     

Share This Page