Why did AIM go into another desktop?

Discussion in 'MacBook Air' started by bob7up, Aug 29, 2012.

  1. bob7up
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2012
    Location:
    Canada
    #1
    Whenever I launch AIM it goes to another desktop, like this:

    [​IMG]
     
  2. mrbrown
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2004
    Location:
    Ozark, Missouri
    #2
    I'm more interested in what's going on in that uTorrent window...
     
  3. Mike in Kansas
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors 6502a

    Mike in Kansas

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2008
    Location:
    Metro Kansas City
    #3
    With AIM running, right click on its icon in the dock. In the menu, hover on "options" and see what is selected. If it specifies a desktop, it will only open in that desktop. If you don't want it to do that, you can specify either "None" or "All Desktops". If you specify "None', it will open in the desktop you are on, but will not be visible in the other desktops as you swipe over to them or select them in Mission Control. If you select "All Desktops", it will again open up in the desktop you are on, but then also be visible in any other desktop you may swipe to or go to in Mission Control. This should fix your problem.

    Another possibility is that you left it in full-screen mode when you quit it. If you open an app that you had left in full screen mode, it will go to full screen mode when you launch it and go to its own desktop. Taking it out of full screen mode before quitting it will allow it to open in the existing desktop next time you open it, assuming you don't have it opening in its own desktop as described in the previous paragraph.
     
  4. GeorgieAcevedo
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors 6502a

    GeorgieAcevedo

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2012
    Location:
    New York City
    #4
    Why are you still using aim? Now that's the real question...
     
  5. Ricanlegend
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2009
    Location:
    Bronx,Ny
    #5
    That not that crazy there's still 1 Million people paying aol lol
     
  6. iAppl3Fan
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors 6502a

    iAppl3Fan

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2011
    #6
    hilarious. you crack me up.

    ----------

    lol

    ----------

    I agree with Mike. I would suggest the same.
     
  7. bob7up
    Expand Collapse
    thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2012
    Location:
    Canada
    #7
    It's what I talk to my friends with.
     
  8. isrefel
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2012
    #8
    Just incase you weren't aware, it is possible to use an AIM account with the messages app. Messages.app > Preferences > Accounts > Add Account (+)
     
  9. djharris
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2009
    Location:
    Virginia, USA
    #9
    I prefer Adium because it supports a variety of protocols, but to each his own...

    Does AIM still have ads? Adium doesn't, it's open source.
     

Share This Page