Why do I have 3 FireWire Ports?

Discussion in 'Macintosh Computers' started by Pancake, May 14, 2003.

  1. macrumors regular

    Pancake

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2003
    Location:
    Anchorage, Alaska
    #1
    I have a G4 400 AGP and was wonderering why I have 3 FireWire ports. Yes, I said 3. It has 2 in the outside and 1 on the INSIDE. Why is there a FireWire port inside my computer? I checked and the G4 AGP were the only ones with an internal FireWire port.
     
  2. macrumors G4

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2002
    Location:
    I accidentally my whole location.
    #2
    I believe they were going to use the internal one for internal Firewire drives at one point but they seemed to have scrapped the idea..

    Only thing I can think of for it.
     
  3. macrumors 68030

    Flowbee

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2002
    Location:
    Alameda, CA
    #3
    Re: Why do I have 3 FireWire Ports?

    Cool... You can mount an iPod inside your computer! :confused: :D
     
  4. macrumors 68020

    bennetsaysargh

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2003
    Location:
    New York
    #4
    i wonder why the scrapped that idea? maybe it would cost too much.
    pancake, can you hok any FW peripherals into it?
     
  5. thread starter macrumors regular

    Pancake

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2003
    Location:
    Anchorage, Alaska
    #5
    I just tried plugging my LaCie 120gig FireWire drive and it worked perfectly.

    I thought it might be for an internal FireWire hard drive, but the port is at the very top of the motherboard, right behind the 2 external ports, and the hardrive is at the very bottom of the case.

    It just doesn't make any sense.
     
  6. macrumors 68000

    GeeYouEye

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2001
    Location:
    State of Denial
    #6
    Back when the AGP G4's were made, there were indications that true FireWire Hard Drives, not just IDE-FireWire bridged ones, would soon be coming out. Turned out not to be worth the money, so there was no need for the port.
     
  7. macrumors 65816

    strider42

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2002
    #7
    I believe it was probably scrapped becauset here aren't any firewire hard drives. I know, I know, you say you can get plenty of them at any computer store. but those are actually just IDE drives inside a firewire case, and therefore offer no advantages over ide. I've heard that at one time firewire was actually going to become a hard drive interface, much like IDE or SCSI, but it never (or couldn't) happen for whatever reason.
     
  8. macrumors 6502a

    toughboy

    Joined:
    May 2, 2003
    Location:
    Izmir, Turkey
    #8
    I dont know why, but I plug my iPod to the inner firewire port.. its closer then the back of the case, and I dont have to mess up with other cables when I plug or unplug the cable...
     
  9. macrumors 68020

    bennetsaysargh

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2003
    Location:
    New York
    #9
    lol. i wish i had a fw port on the keyboard. although it would be slower, i want one. maybe fw keyboards that have a mini hub on them will come soon.:-/
    just thinking:D!
     
  10. macrumors 68000

    MacFan25

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2003
    Location:
    USA
    #10
    yeah, a firewire port on the keyboard would be nice, but I really don't plug and unplug things from the firewire port that much. every few days i charge and sync my ipod through the firewire, but i just leave the cable plugged in the firewire port of the computer when it is done synching and charging.
     
  11. macrumors 68020

    bennetsaysargh

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2003
    Location:
    New York
    #11
    i don't do that either, it would just be a usefull thing to have there when you just need it.
     
  12. Moderator emeritus

    Mr. Anderson

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2001
    Location:
    VA
    #12
    I've got one of the 450 APG Sawtooth Macs and its got the extra firewire port on the mobo. Haven't ever hooked anything up to it, and even since you can chain a ton of the fw devices together, it doesn't really serve any purpose....

    I wonder if the new 970s will have 2 fw800s on them...

    D
     
  13. macrumors 68020

    bennetsaysargh

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2003
    Location:
    New York
    #13
    they probably will have
    2FW800
    2FW400
    4USB2

    i don't know why i want usb2, but still!
     
  14. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2002
    Location:
    Baton Rouge, Louisiana
    #14
    yeah they still sell a lot of pc's with internal usb
    mostly on the build-your-own's and mother boards
    but on the mobo's it makes sense because ther are a lot of cases sold now-a-days that have usb ports built into the front of them (something i would have thought to be implemented into macs by now, or even before some loser company thought of it).
     
  15. macrumors 65816

    ibookin'

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2002
    Location:
    Los Angeles, CA
    #15
    Actually they do. Firewire drives are hot-swappable (you can connect and disconnect them while the computer is running), whereas IDE drives are not unless you have a bay specifically designed for it. As the G4 tower cannot accept such a bay, an internal firewire HD would have its place in the machine, especially since it is very easy to access the inside of the G4 case.
     

Share This Page