Why do I need Leopard?

Discussion in 'macOS' started by Maynerd, Jan 30, 2007.

  1. Maynerd macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2007
    #1
    I took a look at the apple site about the future release of Leopard. Nothing really stood out for me as very exciting or necessary reason to upgrade. Am I missing something or is this just a minor upgrade to tiger?
     
  2. robbieduncan Moderator emeritus

    robbieduncan

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2002
    Location:
    London
    #2
    There are a lot of significant developer upgrades like Objective C 2.0 and Core Animation. Applications written using these technologies will only run on Leopard.

    And that's assuming you don't want the improved built in apps, the resolution independent display technologies...

    Buy you don't NEED Leopard
     
  3. Eraserhead macrumors G4

    Eraserhead

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2005
    Location:
    UK
    #3
    Time Machine looks amazingly useful (especially for those of us who are weak at backing up data ) and Xcode looks really really cool, but if you're don't program you wouldn't care.
     
  4. PlaceofDis macrumors Core

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2004
    #4
    well certainly you don't need leopard,
    but... spaces well be very nice, about time that was built in, and the new Mail and iCal will be great for me, those can always use improvements. and as said already, Core Animation will only be available on leopard, so if any apps start using it, or any of the other upgraded components, it will be needed.
     
  5. Maynerd thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2007
    #5
    I'll probably upgrade anyways since I'm a tech geek. This is my first apple since the apple iie and I'm digging it. I was just wondering what in the next release I should be excited about. :)
     
  6. truz macrumors 6502a

    truz

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2006
    Location:
    Florida
    #6
    Time Machine and iChat is something I'm looking forward too :)
     
  7. MacVault macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2002
    Location:
    Planet Earth
    #7
    Vista flopped today. Hopefully Leopard does NOT flop when it is announced "this spring", but if it does, well, then Google will announce an OS and take computing into the future - where Apple and MS have failed to do.

    Haha! ;)

    No, seriously, Vista's introduction really was underwhelming, if you ask me. And I think/hope Leopard is going to really WOW us - unlike Vista. Poor Bill Gates - bless his heart :D I almost feel sorry for the guy today after watching the Vista launch. But then I think of how rich he is and I don't feel sorry any more :D
     
  8. Maynerd thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2007
    #8
    I dunno I thought vista was pretty cool when I checked out the beta. I think there much more of a reason for someone to upgrade to vista from XP than an upgrade from tiger to leopard. IMHO
     
  9. illegalprelude macrumors 68000

    illegalprelude

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2005
    Location:
    Los Angeles, California
    #9
    oh man, does anybody remember this one?

    "because The Rock said so"
     
  10. KD7IWP macrumors 6502a

    KD7IWP

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2004
    Location:
    American living in Canada
    #10
    HA HA HA HA!!!! :D
     
  11. polevault139 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2006
    Location:
    Illinois
    #11
    You should upgrade because God will be upgrading his Powerbook G5 with Leopard next Tuesday.
     
  12. Lovesong macrumors 65816

    Lovesong

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2006
    Location:
    Stuck beween a rock and a hard place
    #12
    That is something Jack Handy would say.
     
  13. junkster macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2006
    #13
    The big potential win is having key OS X components optimized for x86 processors, resulting in significant performance boosts. If that's true, then that's more important than all the high-profile features.
     
  14. grafikat macrumors 6502a

    grafikat

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2003
  15. valdore macrumors 65816

    valdore

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2007
    Location:
    Kansas City, Missouri. USA
    #15
    I'm in no hurry to transition from Tiger to Leopard. And, it seems to me that the disparity between Tiger and Leopard isn't nearly so dramatic as it is between XP and Vista.
     
  16. MacVault macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2002
    Location:
    Planet Earth
    #16
    I don't see a whole lot of change from XP to Vista. What are you referring to?
     
  17. Maynerd thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2007
    #17
  18. compuwar macrumors 601

    compuwar

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2006
    Location:
    Northern/Central VA
    #18
    Plus it's 64-bit enabled for the C2D to take advantage of, no?
     
  19. elec999 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2007
    #19
    I wish leopard had something like vistas flip 3d.
    Thanks
     
  20. SkyBell macrumors 604

    SkyBell

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2006
    Location:
    Texas, unfortunately.
    #20
    I won't be upgradeing for about 7-9 years. Milk out Tiger, then update to whatever we're using then.

    And while I'm at it, Max Out this Mini. Or buy a new computer. Depends how much HD space is needed and how Much RAM is needed. because even if the minimum for OS XI(?) is 2 gigs of RAM, hey. The mini can take 2 gigs right? Yep, I'm set for a while...
     
  21. applemacdude macrumors 68040

    applemacdude

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2001
    Location:
    Over The Rainbow
    #21
    oh god..

    hah
     
  22. killr_b macrumors 6502a

    killr_b

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2005
    Location:
    Suckerfornia
    #22
    We've had it since Panther. It's called Exposé.



    I actually like the Mac version better. You can see all the windows unobstructed.;)
     
  23. The General macrumors 601

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2006
    #23
    I don't know ... Why do you even need a computer?

    I don't get you people ... what's "64-bit enabled" about it ... it's just "64-bit" ... I don't see how 32-bit operating systems are 64-bit disabled ...

    Besides, G5 = 64-bit, so Tiger must = 64-bit, right? :confused:
     
  24. vansouza macrumors 68000

    vansouza

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2006
    Location:
    West Plains, MO USA Earth
    #24
    64 bit

    I understand it is a 64 bit OS and if you have a 64 bit processor ... that is a big deal in it self...
     
  25. elec999 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2007
    #25
    How do you use it.
    Thanks
     

Share This Page