WHY does classic environment eat all my CPU?

Discussion in 'macOS' started by annk, Sep 12, 2005.

  1. annk Administrator

    annk

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2004
    Location:
    Somewhere over the rainbow
    #1
    I use Wenlin version 2.0, which requires classic environment (I'm running Tiger). But my CPU is up at 100% all the time when the program is open, even when nothing else is open. Activity Moniter shows "True Blue" as being the culprit - I assume that's classic? And if so, why does it eat all CPU?
     
  2. Mitthrawnuruodo Moderator emeritus

    Mitthrawnuruodo

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2004
    Location:
    Bergen, Norway
    #2
    Classic, aka True Blue Environment, tends to get a hiccup every now and then and eat all available resources. Just restart it from the Classic preference, and it should be OK.
     
  3. annk thread starter Administrator

    annk

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2004
    Location:
    Somewhere over the rainbow
    #3
    Ok, thanks. :) I'll do so next time. But it's a bummer to have to keep saving and reopening Wenlin...guess I'll have to fork out the cash for version 3.0. , to avoid classic :(
     
  4. Anonymous Freak macrumors 601

    Anonymous Freak

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2002
    Location:
    Cascadia
    #4
    It's also because Classic is a full OS. An OS that did not 'play well with others'. It is taking as much as it can, but the main OS X kernel (Mach) will take back anything it needs to give to another program. Basically, Classic is considered 'low priority'. If nothing else wants processor time, Classic will take it; but it something else DOES want it, Mach will force Classic to give it up.
     
  5. annk thread starter Administrator

    annk

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2004
    Location:
    Somewhere over the rainbow
    #5
    So my CPU usage will always be high when running classic, because the CPU that isn't being used by other programs, will automatically be sucked up by classic? How can an OS run if it sucks up all CPU?? :eek:

    Sorry, this is probably a dumb question, just trying to get it straight.
     
  6. Mitthrawnuruodo Moderator emeritus

    Mitthrawnuruodo

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2004
    Location:
    Bergen, Norway
    #6
    No, if Classic is running without any applications, it should use little or no resources. But, if a classic app is running it might take a bit, and often more than a similar OS X application, and especially if that application really, really wants attention (like a save or open dialogue), then Classic quickly will require all the resources it can. :)
     

Share This Page