Why does Firefox randomly add bookmarks to my toolbar folder?

Discussion in 'Mac Apps and Mac App Store' started by Insatiable, Feb 25, 2006.

  1. Insatiable macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2003
    #1
    This is really annoying and it happens to me with all the three of the Macs I use regularly: Firefox will randomly add bookmarks (usually the most recent tab I have open in the window) the toolbar folder without any prompting from me at all. It happens every time I open the program. Does anyone else have this problem, and if so, do you know if it's an error, or merely a setting? Any help would be greatly appreciated. Thanks!
     
  2. bousozoku Moderator emeritus

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2002
    Location:
    Gone but not forgotten.
    #2
    I've been using Firefox since version 0.5.0 and never had this issue.

    Have you an extension that deals with tabs?
     
  3. mcmillan macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2004
  4. Airforce macrumors 6502a

    Airforce

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2006
    #4
    You're probably hitting the key combination that does it, on accident. I've had it happen before.
     
  5. Insatiable thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2003
    #5
    I have no Firefox extensions.

    What's the key combo and is there a way to turn it off? Though this certainly could be the answer, I checked all Firefox keyboard shortcuts and I didn't find any that describe what's happening here. New bookmarks based on tabs I have open sometimes appear directly on the Bookmarks Toolbar, sometimes in a folder on the bookmarks toolbar. The fact that this has happened to me consistently on three different machines is driving me crazy!
     
  6. mkrishnan Moderator emeritus

    mkrishnan

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2004
    Location:
    Grand Rapids, MI, USA
    #6
    I've had this happen to me sometimes too... it isn't possible that it's a Javascript thing, is it? There *is* Javascript that adds a bookmark, I think, although I'm not sure...although I'd expect FF would disable it. This never happens to me in Firefox. I think Apple-D makes a new bookmark, but it should make a window pop-up asking you for a name, so it doesn't seem like that's how this happens.
     
  7. Insatiable thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2003
    #7
    You're right-- command-D opens a window and let's you choose. I use this frequently. This is something different. It's actually happened since the last time I posted! It's very random: sometimes it will place one new bookmark in the toolbar, sometimes two or three. Sometimes it's the same bookmark, created twice in a folder on the toolbar. Seeing as how it happens to me multiple times daily on various computers, I'm really surprised more people haven't encountered it.

    It's actually got me seriously considering switching back to Safari again.
     
  8. mcmillan macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2004
    #8
    I don't think it's a java script. I have many bookmark groups in my toolbar and sometimes the random bookmarks appear in any group or outside of them, and it happens with any site. It's just too random for a java script. It has happened with the MacRumors site for example.

    I hope it gets fixed soon, I'm going to Google this to see if I can find anything else.
     
  9. Insatiable thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2003
    #9
    Anybody else have any problems with this? It happens to me at least three times/day.
     
  10. toyman macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2006
    #10
    I'm so sick of this problem

    I've had this exact same problem ever since I switched to Firefox. If anyone has any info on this, please share!
     
  11. radiantm3 macrumors 65816

    radiantm3

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2005
    Location:
    San Jose, CA
    #11
    If you aren't using extensions, why don't you just use Camino? It's the same rendering engine, but a much better browser. I don't think you will have that issue with it either.
     
  12. tobefirst macrumors 68040

    tobefirst

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2005
    Location:
    St. Louis, MO
    #12
    Another user of Firefox having the same problem, although it sounds like not as often as you are. I use Firefox, as opposed to Camino, because I when I tried Camino, I couldn't see that it had RSS features in the browser. Does it and I'm just missing it?
     
  13. bluebomberman macrumors 6502a

    bluebomberman

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2005
    Location:
    Queens, NYC
    #13
    Never had this problem, sorry. I'm going to search mozilla's site and see if I get a hit...

    (I'm assuming you're not accidentally dragging the site URL to the bookmark toolbar, right? What version of Firefox are you running?)
     
  14. radiantm3 macrumors 65816

    radiantm3

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2005
    Location:
    San Jose, CA
    #14
    You know, I think you are right. I don't think Camino has RSS support as of yet. Oh well.
     
  15. homerjward macrumors 68030

    homerjward

    Joined:
    May 11, 2004
    Location:
    fig tree
    #15
    also dragging a tab to the bookmarks bar'll do it.
     
  16. technicolor macrumors 68000

    technicolor

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2005
    Location:
    ><><><><
  17. bluebomberman macrumors 6502a

    bluebomberman

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2005
    Location:
    Queens, NYC
    #17
    Can't find anything on the mozilla site. Sorry, I'm stumped.
     

Share This Page