Why does LION always re-open old windows

Discussion in 'Mac OS X Lion (10.7)' started by FooArk, Jul 30, 2011.

  1. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2011
    #1
    Safari always re-opens windows I had open before

    Preview loads every picture I had open before

    Seriously how can I get rid of this?
     
  2. macrumors regular

    kfury77

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2007
    Location:
    Osaka, Japan
  3. macrumors 68020

    benhollberg

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2010
    #3
    It is called Resume and said to be one of the major new features in Lion, it was the first thing I deactivated.
     
  4. macrumors 6502a

    tctony

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2009
    #4
  5. macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2007
    #5
    when you restart, theres an option to turn off restoring windows after restart
     
  6. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2010
    #6
    Any way not to have it automatically checked on?
     
  7. macrumors 68020

    benhollberg

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2010
    #7
    I always shutdown by pressing Control + Option + Command + Eject, and it always opens windows again. It drives me crazy, now if I remember I use the long way to reboot but often times I don't remember.
     
  8. thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2011
    #8
    I did that and Preview still opens every single picture
     
  9. macrumors 68000

    adder7712

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2009
    Location:
    Anywhere
    #9
    Hope this helps! Uncheck the box.
     

    Attached Files:

  10. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 22, 2003
    #10
    But why does the OS assume you would want to reopen programs already quit using the Quit function in the Safari menu? Reopening something not fully closed/quit on shutdown makes sense, but I shouldn't have to tell the OS to quit something twice.
     
  11. macrumors 68000

    ideal.dreams

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2010
    Location:
    OH
    #11
    Instead of using CMD + Q you can use CMD + ALT + Q to quit the program and discard all windows. Either that or just disable Resume altogether.
     
  12. DaveTheRave, Jul 31, 2011
    Last edited: Jul 31, 2011

    macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 22, 2003
    #12
    I can see Resume being useful. I still think its confusing to beginners like me that there's an extra step needed to fully quit the program. I hope Apple changes this for people who want resume but also want Quit to mean Quit.
     
  13. macrumors 68020

    benhollberg

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2010
  14. thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2011
    #14
    this Lion stuff is a scam
     
  15. macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2011
    Location:
    Las Vegas, NV
    #15
    fixed
     
  16. macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2005
    #16
    Is there a way to get it to not reopen all the programs that were open when you log off? I dislike that it asks every time. I should remember the last setting or have an option to not ask every time.
     
  17. macrumors 68020

    benhollberg

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2010
    #17
    Exactly, another setting should be to just disable Resume completely.
     
  18. macrumors 68030

    srf4real

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2006
    Location:
    paradise beach FL
    #18
    In a forward looking world I can see where resume is a very effective tool for those of us who are actually doing work in the same apps all day but sometimes shut one down to give processor and ram to another, etc.. and then need to re-open the previous app again. I am going to teach myself to integrate this feature into my workflow instead of whining because it is different than what I am accustomed to.

    Now when I'm surfing pr0n, this crap better stop!!!!!11!!1:rolleyes:
     

Share This Page