Why does Mac OS X mount my network drives with UPPERCASE names?

Discussion in 'macOS' started by nesbitt_a, May 30, 2006.

  1. nesbitt_a macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2003
    #1
    Does anyone know why Mac OS X has to mount my network drives with UPPERCASE names?

    Is it possible to change this?
     
  2. GimmeSlack12 macrumors 603

    GimmeSlack12

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2005
    Location:
    San Francisco
    #2
    Probably it does this for compatibility with PC's, and if the network drives are running on PC's then it really makes sense. Otherwise I am not sure. You'd need to change the names of the host name on that computer.
     
  3. nesbitt_a thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2003
    #3
    The shares are shared with lowercase names. Neither Windows nor Mac has any connection issues, just the uppercase titling is very annoying.
     
  4. Mitthrawnuruodo Moderator emeritus

    Mitthrawnuruodo

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2004
    Location:
    Bergen, Norway
    #4
    I think it's a samba (or other networking protocol) thing done for compatability reasons, like GimmeSlack12 said. I've just learned to ignore it (as I rarely connect to Linux/Windows servers/shares). More annoying is it that my FAT16 formatted pendrive does the same, and no matter how many times I've renamed it to 'rips' it still shows up as 'RIPS', the little <insert appropriate curse word here>. ;)
     
  5. nesbitt_a thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2003
    #5
    What protocol are you using to connect machines?
     
  6. Mitthrawnuruodo Moderator emeritus

    Mitthrawnuruodo

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2004
    Location:
    Bergen, Norway
    #6
    Whatever is available... :eek:

    At home I only have Macs, so I just use standard afp://. When I've connected to Windows and Linux servers in the past I think I mostly used smb (I honestly just click whatever shows up under Network -> Servers in Finder, and that usually works ;)). Right now I only have afp and ftp connections in my Recent Servers list, non of which is Win/Linux shares, so I cannot be sure.
     
  7. gekko513 macrumors 603

    gekko513

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2003
    #7
    Try to rename it 'Rips' instead. It sounds weird, but it may work.
     
  8. Mitthrawnuruodo Moderator emeritus

    Mitthrawnuruodo

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2004
    Location:
    Bergen, Norway
    #8
    Nah... just "bounces" back to uppercase when I rename it (both when I rename it by clicking the name in Finder and when I open the Info Window and try renaming it from that).

    Maybe I'll just rename it into an acronym... :D
     
  9. XIII macrumors 68040

    XIII

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2004
    Location:
    England
    #9
    Try renaming it, by keeping the existing name (in caps) and then putting a number 1 in the name aswell. Let it change to this (so now it has gone from being named EXAMPLE to being EXAM1PLE (the number 1 can go anywhere in the name)). Then, change the name with the 1 in the title to what you want it to be in lowercase letter (so change EXAM1PLE to Example), and it should stick. You *may* have to redo this every time the computer is restarted.. I'm not sure. Try it - let me know if it works. Be nice if it was me helping you for once Mitt. :p
     
  10. Mitthrawnuruodo Moderator emeritus

    Mitthrawnuruodo

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2004
    Location:
    Bergen, Norway
    #10
    Thanks XIII, that actually helped... :)

    Now, will the new name "survive" a trip to a Windows PC, too (or is that an even bigger problem than restarting ;))...?

    Edit: It didn't even survive an eject and reconnect... :(

    Back to the acronym idea, I think... ;)
     
  11. XIII macrumors 68040

    XIII

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2004
    Location:
    England
    #11
    I'm not sure. :p I have to do this to name my Windows partition of my HD - it automatically bounces back to WINDOWS HD instead of Windows HD - but goes back to WINDOWS HD every time I restart. So.. I wouldn't be very confident in it coming back from the PC without its name being all caps. :)
     
  12. superbovine macrumors 68030

    superbovine

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2003
    #12
    change your drive name to all numbers then it won't be all upcase.
     
  13. steelphantom macrumors 6502a

    steelphantom

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2005
    #13
    I bought an external hard drive and formatted it to FAT32 at first. Every time I connected it the drive name would show up in all caps. As soon as I formatted it to HFS+ I was able to use lowercase letters again! The exact same thing happened with my iPod.
     

Share This Page