Why does Open With show so many duplicate applications when I don't have them?

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by Doju, Oct 13, 2012.

  1. Doju, Oct 13, 2012
    Last edited by a moderator: Oct 13, 2012

    macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2008
    #1
    Looking at my Applications folder, I have no duplicate applications, yet when I right click files the Open With dialog often has a massive list of applications full of duplicates.

    [​IMG]

    Why is this?

    (OS X 10.8.2)
     
  2. macrumors 601

    satcomer

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2008
    Location:
    The Finger Lakes Region
    #2
    A cache file has been corrupted. You can reset the cache file with a simple /Applications/Utilities/Terminal.app and at the first Terminal prompt put in the Terminal code (after you quit all Applications):

    Code:
    /System/Library/Frameworks/CoreServices.framework/Versions/A/Frameworks/LaunchServices.framework/Versions/A/Support/lsregister -kill -r -domain local -domain system -domain user
    After you let the Terminal program run and know it reset the cache you will know it is finished when you get another Terminal prompt. Then you can close Terminal and the right click for applications will work correctly again. Good Luck.
     
  3. macrumors 604

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2008
    Location:
    West Suburban Boston Ma
    #3
    Thanks! This works fine.
     
  4. macrumors 604

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2008
    Location:
    West Suburban Boston Ma
    #4
    Interestingly enough, while the cache file can be reset successfully, it becomes corrupt again after days or weeks of usage. Even more strange, it only becomes corrupt again on a 13" MBP running 10.8.2 but not on a 24" iMac running the same software.
     
  5. macrumors G4

    wrldwzrd89

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2003
    Location:
    Solon, OH
    #5
    The Terminal fix worked for me on a 27" 2011 iMac. It's worth noting that even the Finder must be relaunched for the change to take full effect - you really DO have to quit everything.
     
  6. macrumors 604

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2008
    Location:
    West Suburban Boston Ma
    #6
    I rebooted after doing the terminal fix...problem keeps coming back after a day or so.
     

Share This Page