Why is Amazon saying current model?

Discussion in 'iPod touch' started by BradOntCa, Dec 25, 2012.

  1. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2010
    Messages:
    26
    Location:
    Canada
    #1
  2. macrumors 601

    Plutonius

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2003
    Messages:
    4,709
    Location:
    New Hampshire
    #2
    If you buy an iPod Touch that is 16gb in capacity, the 4th gen is the current version and is sold by Apple as their cheapest Touch (i.e. there is no 16gb 5th gen Touch). You have to get either a 32gb or 64gb Touch to get a 5th gen Touch.
     
  3. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2011
    Messages:
    68
    Location:
    UK
    #3
    Very dubious selling.
    It's a 4th gen and there is a 5th gen available, regardless of capacity.
     
  4. macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2012
    Messages:
    875
    #4
    Well, it actually is the current 16G. The only availble model left with this capacity so technically, they are right.
     
  5. Plutonius, Dec 26, 2012
    Last edited: Dec 26, 2012

    macrumors 601

    Plutonius

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2003
    Messages:
    4,709
    Location:
    New Hampshire
    #5
    Not really. They say

    1) It's a 4th gen (entirely correct).
    2) It's the current version (entirely correct since the 4th gen is the current version for 16gb).

    If they didn't say that it was a 4th gen and they only said it was the current version, I would agree with you.

    Note - The older 4th gen touch had an 8gb capacity (not 16gb) so they did make a change (just capacity) in the 4th gen when they released the 5th gen.
     

Share This Page