Why is everybody saying to wait until universal programs come out,andTHENbuyanintel?

Discussion in 'Buying Tips and Advice' started by car, Jan 26, 2006.

1. car macrumors newbie

Hey guys, I'm a newbie here (lol) and I have one big question. I want a new mac, and am very happy that these new intel iMacs came out. Here's my dilemma, all the reviews that I read say that we should wait until universal programs come out and then buy the computer. My question is, isn't it the same whether you wait or buy the computer now, I mean, even if you wait until the universal programs come out (so you dont have to use Rosetta), and then buy the mac, it's still gonna be the same mac. But if you buy it now, you'll endure a bit of Rosetta, but at least you won't be mac-less until the universal programs come out...

So why are the reviews saying to wait and buy...is there gonna be a new machine, or does it somehow make a difference..?

Please explain!! Thank you guys!! :)

2. ITASOR macrumors 601

ITASOR

Some people depend on the apps that don't run under rosetta and therefore cannot be without them until UBs are made available.

There's also those who suggest that beginners shouldn't start with an intel now (I agree to that as well) because it takes a little more searching when getting apps, might be more problematic at this point, etc.

3. car thread starter macrumors newbie

Oh I see. ...So not everything runs on Rosetta. But those are more complicated programs? Photoshop, Premier and that runs on Rosetta?

Anyhoo, I dont think I completely understand what you mean on why beginners shouldn't start on an Intel based Mac?

4. Clix Pix macrumors demi-goddess

Clix Pix

8 miles from the Apple Store at Tysons (VA)