Why is firefox so 'snappier' in windows than in mac

Discussion in 'Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac' started by daneoni, Dec 9, 2006.

  1. daneoni macrumors G4

    daneoni

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2006
    #1
    I just installed windwos on my MBP as much as i'd been avoiding it i finally caved. I installed firefox and immediately noticed that it was way faster than the mac version. pages load instantly like....boom. As steve eloquently puts it.

    I also noticed that two-finger scrolling on the trackpad requires a little more force to activate and to my dismay, tap functions dont work. Also brightness control needs work, the next lower setting after full brightness is too low and full brightness is well....too bright. Asides from these. everything seems fine.

    Just wanted to rant that out.
     
  2. psychofreak Retired

    psychofreak

    Joined:
    May 16, 2006
    Location:
    London
    #2
    The issues you talk about involving tapping should be fixed by the finalized boot camp in leopard, and hopefully in the next beta (if there is one).

    Firefox is faster when opened alone. This is because windows is good at giving loads of power to one app, while OSX works best during multitasking. Try opening some more apps at the same time, then OSX will be much faster.
     
  3. Sesshi macrumors G3

    Sesshi

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2006
    Location:
    One Nation Under Gordon
    #3
    Odd. I find Firefox bootup just as slow on both platforms. On RAM-limited systems Windows will be faster launching Firefox.
     
  4. psychofreak Retired

    psychofreak

    Joined:
    May 16, 2006
    Location:
    London
    #4
    The intel optimized BonEcho has much better boot up times.
     
  5. Sesshi macrumors G3

    Sesshi

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2006
    Location:
    One Nation Under Gordon
    #5
    Reely? I'll have to see if I haven't updated or something. Wouldn't the intel optimisation be evident in the UB Firefox?
     
  6. neonblue2 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2006
    Location:
    Port Pirie, South Australia
    #6
    I was under the impression that because the Gecko engine was designed on Windows and Linux for Windows and Linux that it had problems with full compatibility on Macs
     
  7. flopticalcube macrumors G4

    flopticalcube

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2006
    Location:
    In the velcro closure of America's Hat
    #7
    I have noticed this too. Safari is far snappier on the Mac than FF.
     
  8. erikamsterdam macrumors regular

    erikamsterdam

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2006
    Location:
    amsterdam
    #8
    Well, why not use Camino then, specially coded for Mac by those wonderful Firefox people. Very snappy.
     
  9. bousozoku Moderator emeritus

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2002
    Location:
    Gone but not forgotten.
    #9
    Add to that the probability that the Mozilla team is probably using a commercial compiler on Windows instead of gcc. Supposedly, all browsers are slower on Mac OS X.

    I would like to see how Windows works when the foreground priority is set to zero. I'd say that a lot of people would be complaining about the lack of responsiveness.
     
  10. ddekker macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2006
    Location:
    Michigan
    #10
    I find on my powerbook using either FF or safari web browsing to be painfull compared to IE or FF on my PC'S, I know I know, I need a new mac the old powerbooks gotta go but buying two macbook pro's sure hurts the wallet...

    DD
     
  11. daneoni thread starter macrumors G4

    daneoni

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2006
    #11
    Guess i should look into specialised builds. I've tried camino, shiira & Opera. They just don't work that well for my needs.
     
  12. knopix macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2006
    Location:
    Brooklyn, NY
    #12
    That's true, apart from Opera, both Camino and Shiira have some CSS-parsing problems.
    Opera is great, but it doesn't have all the plugins that are available for Firefox.

    Like you said I would look for specialized builds, but if you're willing to go through the trouble then you could simply compile it yourself.
     

Share This Page