Why is Photoshop CS3 doing this???

Discussion in 'Design and Graphics' started by Hecklerdanny, Apr 2, 2008.

  1. macrumors 6502

    Hecklerdanny

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2007
    #1
    In Adobe Photoshop CS3 on my Mac running OS 10.5.2, when I click on a tool in the toolbar, it acts as a "right click" and doesn't select what I clicked on, it shows me all options under that specific tool. I'm attaching a few photos to show you what I'm talking about...

    When I want the brush tool, in CS, I click on the brush and the brush opens, but in CS3, clicking on the brush tool shows me all available tools under that tool. I've been using Photoshop since version 4, and I KNOW that this isn't normal.

    Trust me, after a few months of this, it gets extremely annoying...Extremely...


    Does anyone have any suggestions??

    The images i've attached are from a regular left click.
    Thanks a lot in advance.
     

    Attached Files:

  2. macrumors 6502

    jerryrock

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2007
    Location:
    Amsterdam, NY
    #2
    The first step to troubleshoot Photoshop is resetting preferences:

    Resetting Preferences at Launch Time
    If you would like to reset all of your Photoshop preferences, simultaneously hold down the Control+Alt+Shift (Windows), Command+Option+Shift (Mac) keys as you launch the application.
     
  3. thread starter macrumors 6502

    Hecklerdanny

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2007
    #3
    Thanks for tip. I tried this, and while it did reset all of my preferences, it did not solve the problem. The toolbar is simply acting as if i'm right clicking only. Man it's annoying.
     
  4. macrumors G4

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2006
    Location:
    Redondo Beach, California
    #4
    Does the right click thing only happen inside Photoshop? It is possable to re-assign mouse buttons in system prefs. the wacom tablet panel also alows you to re-asign buttons
     
  5. thread starter macrumors 6502

    Hecklerdanny

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2007
    #5
    Yes it is only happening inside of Photoshop CS3, I suspected that at first, that Photoshop thought I WAS right clicking, but it doesn't matter which way I click on the tool bars, it still acts as a right click. I'd love to get this issue resolved, you have no idea how annoying this has gotten after dealing with it for a few months. It's driving me nuts!

    Thanks for the tips everyone, keep them coming! I'd love to get this fixed.
     
  6. macrumors 68040

    IgnatiusTheKing

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2007
    Location:
    das Fort
    #6
    If you click and hold on a button, it will make the tool menu expand like that. Have you checked to see if there is a mouse setting that is maybe making a single click act like you are clicking-and-holding?
     
  7. macrumors G4

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2006
    Location:
    Redondo Beach, California
    #7
    "Months"? Have you called Adobe support? I would have tried that well before the first month.

    I assume you've tried a different mouse. Do you have a graphic tablet to try?
     
  8. thread starter macrumors 6502

    Hecklerdanny

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2007
    #8
    Yes I called Adobe, they told me to delete the preference files. And yes I have tried it using one of my Wacom Tablets. Same results...

    To add to the strangeness:
    To test it out last night, I installed the same CS3 from the same disc on my home iMac, and it's doing it there also. Is it possible that I got a "bad" copy of Photoshop on my install disc?

    Just to clarify, so I know there is hope: When you guys click on a toolbar icon, like a brush, it just selects the brush, without opening all options under the brush tool?
     
  9. macrumors 68020

    heehee

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2006
    Location:
    Same country as Santa Claus
    #9
    when I left click on the brush tool, it selects the brush, when I left click and hold the mouse button down, it shows the options.
     
  10. thread starter macrumors 6502

    Hecklerdanny

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2007
    #10
    ...So there is hope. Now matter how quickly I tap on the icon in the Toolbar, it shows me all options under that tool. I've tried with a tablet and another Mac with exactly the same results.

    I'm on the phone with Adobe again actually as I type this...They don't really know much about this problem...
     
  11. macrumors 68040

    IgnatiusTheKing

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2007
    Location:
    das Fort
    #11
    This really, really sounds like a mouse issue, rather than a PS issue. There's got to be a setting that is causing your left-clicks to act like right-clicks or your normal clicks to act like click-and-holds. Does this sort of thing happen in any other program (or in the Finder)? Have you checked the Universal Access settings?
     
  12. thread starter macrumors 6502

    Hecklerdanny

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2007
    #12
    I thought that for a while too, so to make sure that it wasn't, I installed that version of Photoshop onto another Mac, AND tried it with a Wacom Intuos2 tablet, exact same results all around.

    It has not happened in any other programs, but if there is a setting somewhere in the Mighty Mouse settings I'd love to try it out. Does anyone know if there a setting for "one-click-speed" or something to that affect?
     
  13. macrumors 65816

    snickelfritz

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2003
    Location:
    Tucson AZ
    #13
    One workaround is to become a keyboard-shortcut zen-guru.
    ie: select the affected tools with the keyboard rather than the mouse.
     
  14. macrumors 68040

    IgnatiusTheKing

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2007
    Location:
    das Fort
    #14
    Very true. Most designers I know (including myself) use keyboard shortcuts most of the time. There are always a few that I don't know, though...
     
  15. thread starter macrumors 6502

    Hecklerdanny

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2007
    #15
    Funny you suggest this, because this was actually Adobe's "official fix" that they gave me on the phone this morning. I very politely explained to them that this is not a good enough sollution for me, so they're giving me access to an FTP site that will allow me to try to download CS3 and see if that version does it as well.

    I use Keyboard shortcuts for LOTS of tools, but I certainly don't know all of them by any means.

    My next question: How am I basically the only one who's ever seen this problem? The odds are looking better that I somehow got some "buggy" version on my install disc, since I tried it on different machines with the same results. Wow it's an annoying bug.
     
  16. thread starter macrumors 6502

    Hecklerdanny

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2007
    #16
  17. macrumors 65816

    snickelfritz

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2003
    Location:
    Tucson AZ
    #17
    Have you tried creating a new user account on your Mac?
    Is 10.5 an upgrade, or a clean installation?
     
  18. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 18, 2009
    #18
    Did you ever find out how to solve this? On my mbp it's doing the right click when I click, but the normal click when I tap... most annoying!
     
  19. macrumors 6502a

    opeter

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2007
    Location:
    Slovenia (EU)
    #19
    If I were you, I would first install the 10.5.8 update for your MacOS X Leopard.

    EDIT: ups, I didn't see the date.
     

Share This Page