Why no 8x superdrive on the imac?

Discussion in 'Buying Tips, Advice and Discussion (archive)' started by carpet, Feb 9, 2005.

  1. carpet macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2005
    #1
    Why does the new pb have an 8x superdrive but the g5 iMac does not?
     
  2. jackieonasses macrumors 6502a

    jackieonasses

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2004
    Location:
    the great OKLAHOMA....
    #2
    2 reasons... both extremely obvious.

    1.) The Power line... something to differentiate.

    2.) Updates are on there way.
     
  3. carpet thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2005
    #3
    Ive already reported you and im going to again. You have an extremely bad attitude in all my threads. :cool:
     
  4. ravenvii macrumors 604

    ravenvii

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2004
    Location:
    Melenkurion Skyweir
    #4
    Umm... I see nothing wrong in his post. You should be the one getting reported if your other thread is of any indication...

    Now I'll pretend I didn't feed the troll, and add in...

    But the eMacs have 8x Superdrives, don't they? It's really strange that the iMac G5's don't... Wonder if it's because 8x wasn't available in slot-loading drives (at the time of the iMac G5's launch)?
     
  5. jackieonasses macrumors 6502a

    jackieonasses

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2004
    Location:
    the great OKLAHOMA....
    #5
    I am sorry if i came off bad. I didn't mean anything bad to you at all.

    Edit- i couldn't even find another time i posted in one of your threads, except one. That one was nice.

    kyle
     
  6. BornAgainMac macrumors 603

    BornAgainMac

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2004
    Location:
    Florida Resident
    #6
    From a MacWorld from Steve Jobs himself when he introduced the Flat Panel G4 iMac is that when you place a CD drive on it side (built-in into the monitor) that you have to slow it down for it to work. The design was to keep the screen as flat as possible. You can use a 16x third party Superdrive that is external but I believe iDVD won't work with third party drives. You would have to use DVD Pro. You can still make a data DVD and Toast has a DVD crude video app for real DVDs.
     
  7. jackieonasses macrumors 6502a

    jackieonasses

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2004
    Location:
    the great OKLAHOMA....
    #7
    OR you can use iDvd '05 - and export it as a Dvd disc image, and burn it under either Toast, or Disk Utility.

    kyle
     
  8. ravenvii macrumors 604

    ravenvii

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2004
    Location:
    Melenkurion Skyweir
    #8
    Ah, I didn't consider the horizonal vs. vertical thing. Answers my eMac question if this is right.
     
  9. Platform macrumors 68030

    Platform

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2004
    #9
    May I ask what was wrong with his attitude :confused:

    Over to your question: I tought that the iMac had 8X Superdrive just that it was only DVD-R and not a RW with the + and -
     
  10. edesignuk Moderator emeritus

    edesignuk

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2002
    Location:
    London, England
    #10
    It's time for you to leave now.

    edit: oh noes! Suppose I'm going to be reported too now :eek: for having an "extremely bad attitude in all my threads." Oh well, it's OK, I'll get over it.
     
  11. BornAgainMac macrumors 603

    BornAgainMac

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2004
    Location:
    Florida Resident
    #11
    2 Replies: (both extremely obvious)
    1) Perhaps it was the "both extremely obvious" quote. It didn't bother me.
    2) I thought that was a software / firmware issue with the DVD-[-+R,-+RW]
     
  12. Platform macrumors 68030

    Platform

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2004
    #12
    Maby it is just Firmware

    Will apple send out updates for it for free or ?
     
  13. BornAgainMac macrumors 603

    BornAgainMac

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2004
    Location:
    Florida Resident
    #13
    I have received Firmware updates from Apple thru Update / CD for free in the past. I am wondering if they will call it a feature in Tiger and only include it with that release. Or it could already be that way, just put one of those other DVDs in the drive and use iLife '05 to burn a DVD to see if it works.
     

Share This Page