Why no audio chat? I AM MAD!

Discussion in 'Mac Apps and Mac App Store' started by DJ OJ, Nov 30, 2006.

  1. DJ OJ macrumors regular

    DJ OJ

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2006
    Location:
    Japan>Shibuya>My House. Unbelievable Ain't it!?
    #1
    I am very angry that AIM and iChat can not voice chat eachother. All my friends are on PC and I can not call them, I need my dad to download skype, but only one of my friends has skype. Is there anyway to get around the stupid little only cideo your PC friends thing in macs?
     
  2. dpaanlka macrumors 601

    dpaanlka

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2004
    Location:
    Illinois
    #2
    That's weird, I could have sworn I chatted with PC friends before...
     
  3. wmmk macrumors 68020

    wmmk

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2006
    Location:
    The Library.
    #3
    same here. BTW, why can't you download skype yourself?
     
  4. DJ OJ thread starter macrumors regular

    DJ OJ

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2006
    Location:
    Japan>Shibuya>My House. Unbelievable Ain't it!?
    #4
    Well, when my dad used the tiger parental controls to turn off safari ( got new browser with time limits) it turned off whatever app that unpakeges DMG files and some new apps won't work either.
     
  5. puckhead193 macrumors G3

    puckhead193

    Joined:
    May 25, 2004
    Location:
    NY
    #5
    is it an OS X thing or a software thing... you can adium ( i don't know if it offers voice chats)
     
  6. ewilson6 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2006
    #6
    download gizmo project for mac....


    windows and macs can audio chat just fine with each other





    :)
     
  7. clevin macrumors G3

    clevin

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2006
    #7
    ichat only works with AIM 5.9, maybe they are using the newer trition, skype is pretty good, u can try to convert all your friends to it...
     
  8. quigleybc macrumors 68030

    quigleybc

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2005
    Location:
    Beautiful Vancouver British Columbia, Canada
    #8
    I Audio Chat all the time with windows people.

    I use iChat they use AIM

    and I video chat too same way.
     
  9. DJ OJ thread starter macrumors regular

    DJ OJ

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2006
    Location:
    Japan>Shibuya>My House. Unbelievable Ain't it!?
    #9
    Odd. One person I am trying to talk with says they have 5.9, triton, and 6.0
     
  10. advocation macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2006
    Location:
    Yeovil, UK
    #10
    sounds like your dad possibly also blocked some software that allows for voice chatting...
     
  11. KingYaba macrumors 68040

    KingYaba

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2005
    Location:
    Up the irons
    #11
    I know iChat and Trillian works together. However, AIM and iChat have been iffy.
     
  12. Chundles macrumors G4

    Chundles

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2005
    #12
    Tell your Dad to stop being an anal-retentive paranoid Big Brother-type figure and start being a more trusting and positive role model.

    Either that or ask him to let you download Skype - your call. :D :p
     
  13. DJ OJ thread starter macrumors regular

    DJ OJ

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2006
    Location:
    Japan>Shibuya>My House. Unbelievable Ain't it!?
    #13
    I am okay with the parental controls. He has nothing against me using my computer for calling people, I do it on the PC all the time. SO, trillian will work ( or whatever it is called) cool. I will tell my friend
     
  14. Buschmaster macrumors 65816

    Buschmaster

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2006
    Location:
    Minnesota
    #14
    My girlfriend and I actually found "Yak" to be the only way to get video chat to work between the two.
     

Share This Page